Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: 51504rock PunkRC Dig Switch Review

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2009, 04:41 PM   #1
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Livermore
Posts: 580
Arrow 51504rock PunkRC Dig Switch Review

Here is a little review of the new PunkRC Dig Switch

My first impression of the Dig Unit was Wow what a nice compact unit, with a no brainer wiring set up.

This unit is nice and small and was very easy to find a spot on my rig to mount. The clearly labeled soldering tabs made for quick and easy wiring.

I have been beating on the unit for the last couple of days without any problems at all. Full throttle front and rear digs without a problem. Fast instant dig when ever i need it.

No problem locking up the motors to get that rig to dig

All in all I am very impressed with the PunkRC Dig Switch and would highly recommend it to anyone that wants a small compact, easy to wire dig setup.


My Rig specs:

Berg Axles
HH 35T hand wound motors 12t pinions front/rear
3 cell lipo 25c 1500
Tekin FXR
Castle BEC
PunkRC dig switch


Here are a couple of pics and a quick video showing the dig unit in action.

PunkRc Dig Unit







My old setup wiring mess



My new wiring setup, cleaner and lower



A quick video of the unit in action:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5FfqWATS9w


Thanks PunkRC for the Great New product for the RC Crawling word
51504rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-2009, 05:23 PM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sebastopol CA
Posts: 1,526
Default

Glad to hear it's working well for you, can't wait to get mine installed.
BigB_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 05:35 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Ocean
Posts: 2,346
Default

Looks good Dustin. Would you say the wheels lock up tighter than the dig switch setup of the same? Thanks
dpdsurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 05:56 PM   #4
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Livermore
Posts: 580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpdsurf View Post
Looks good Dustin. Would you say the wheels lock up tighter than the dig switch setup of the same? Thanks
I don't think they lock up tighter but just as good and effective

I think they are going to be doing a review of the PunkRc Dig Switch tonight on RCC Live, might want to check it out.
51504rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 06:03 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Ocean
Posts: 2,346
Default

Good deal, thanks! Looks like I'll have to add it to the list of stuff I don't really need but have to have!
dpdsurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 06:27 PM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Henderson/Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 5,034
Default

that does it, im buying one.. thanks man!
dieselfuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 10:19 AM   #7
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Roy
Posts: 186
Default

Awesome! Thanks for reviewing the product. I will add a link from the webpage.
PunkRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 06:34 PM   #8
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mission,BC
Posts: 121
Default

Good review. I cant wait for mine to arrive
slicknic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 06:38 PM   #9
R.I.P. Chip
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The Crawler State
Posts: 13,954
Default

I did the install on one on the RCCtv show. Once we got the radio figured out it worked great, for sure easier to wire than the double radio shack switch/servo setup. It worked great in the rig we installed it in. I'll be getting one for my next MOA build for sure.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dpdsurf View Post
Looks good Dustin. Would you say the wheels lock up tighter than the dig switch setup of the same? Thanks
It does the same thing as the dig switches, it grounds the pole of the motor therefore the wheels would lockup just the same.
jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 12:28 PM   #10
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lake Havasu City
Posts: 96
Default

New to the MOA set up. This may be a dumb question, but here it goes. With the Punk Dig can run one esc? Or does it depend on the esc's capabilities? Was wondering if I could get away with running my Novak Rooster. Or what esc's can run two motors? Thanks.
SWelte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 04:25 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southern Tier, NY
Posts: 38
Default

I believe you can run any ESC you want as long as you at least have a three channel radio/ receiver. I'm running a Tekin FXR with a Spektrum DX3 and it works like a charm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWelte View Post
New to the MOA set up. This may be a dumb question, but here it goes. With the Punk Dig can run one esc? Or does it depend on the esc's capabilities? Was wondering if I could get away with running my Novak Rooster. Or what esc's can run two motors? Thanks.
lksyotas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 06:52 PM   #12
Just jump it!
 
rottenbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cedar City, Utah
Posts: 1,952
Default

I cant wait to get mine!! I am going to run a fxr with two 45t motors on my bully. Hope to have it before this weekend.
I am on day 7!!! Anyone else have to wait a long time for theres?
I havent even got a shipping notice yet.
I hope mr punk rc is OK.
rottenbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:52 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southern Tier, NY
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rottenbelly View Post
I cant wait to get mine!! I am going to run a fxr with two 45t motors on my bully. Hope to have it before this weekend.
I am on day 7!!! Anyone else have to wait a long time for theres?
I havent even got a shipping notice yet.
I hope mr punk rc is OK.
I bought mine at the end of July - first part of my build I purchased. Only took three days shipping time to get mine. Sorry to hear everyone is having to wait longer - supply vs. demand I'm sure...

I'm also running two 45T motors on my Bully's with a 3S lipo. Couldn't be happier...
lksyotas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 05:25 PM   #14
Just jump it!
 
rottenbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cedar City, Utah
Posts: 1,952
Default

Did you have to reverse polarity of one motor ?
Since if you wire both of them + to +, - to - one would go backwards.
rottenbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com