Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices


Thread: Outcry ESC

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 08:59 PM   #101
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nanaimo BC, Canada
Posts: 94
Default

I bought an Outcry esc on the weekend and it is awesome ran it on sunday with a 7.2 nimh and a axial 55t, drag brake is damn good, a way better esc than the axial esc i was running...
bradabolics is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-05-2010, 08:15 PM   #102
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary, Ab
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skullking View Post
It does not matter which way the radio throttle is, it still does it. I am just wondering if there is something wrong???????????????
Just adjust the EPAs. Mine did that too.

Mine's just faboo, but the truck does big endos when I cut the throttle.
ugly duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 03:41 AM   #103
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Flat Orlando
Posts: 152
Default

Faster in reverse...
The timing on the motor is not correct. Adjust the endbell one direction or the other and you'll see a noted improvement. Be sure to mark the motor in its present position should you need to "go back" to the original settings.
freemachinist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 02:10 PM   #104
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Macon
Posts: 28
Default

Does this ESC have LiPo cut off or not? Thanks.
magicald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 02:59 PM   #105
RCC Addict
 
kurtus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanaimo, BC (Vancouver Island)
Posts: 1,156
Default

no, it doesn't have one. Novak smartstop in a 2s or 3s will work great with it though.
kurtus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 09:43 PM   #106
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Casa Grande
Posts: 11
Default

just got mine along with the 35 T motor. Everything seemed to be running fine, but when I get about 40 feet away the truck starts glitching and becomes non responsive. I didnt move the antenna wires or anything and the lights arent hooked up. anyone else have this issue? is it the am rx?
bumpandrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 10:18 PM   #107
RCC Addict
 
kurtus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanaimo, BC (Vancouver Island)
Posts: 1,156
Default

alot of my issues went away with a spektrum dx3e
kurtus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 09:56 PM   #108
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Casa Grande
Posts: 11
Default

I have the stock Radio.. how do I adjust the epas? my reverse is faster also. Not sure about the timing on the motor either.. it is a RC4WD 35T.

Bump
bumpandrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 07:06 PM   #109
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 49
Default curious about the reverse being stronger then forward

seems to me that many people have this issue with their outcry esc.

im considering to buy this thing too but want to know if anyone who had this reverse problem had gotten it fixed? or if they just decided to live with it.

also, i know earlier someone posted a comparison picture of the novak rooster esc and the rc4wd outcry esc. the picture no longer works so does anyone else have a comparison picture?

i guess with an external comparison, how different are these two esc's (rooster and outcry) based on performance using the same set up? earlier someone said the drag break on the outcry isn't as strong as the rooster but is there other thoughts?

any opinions would be great!!!
jmini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:11 PM   #110
RCC Addict
 
kurtus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanaimo, BC (Vancouver Island)
Posts: 1,156
Default

I have both and feel that the outcry is nearly equal in performance minus the lipo cutoff however you can run up to a 4s lipo on the outcry and only 2s on the rooster. I find that the throttle control is a little more precise on the rooster but I would expect that for the cost differance. Buy the outcry and put a lipo buzzer in and be done with it, you wont be unhappy.
kurtus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 03:56 AM   #111
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 49
Default

sounds great. it's funny because i already had ordered a tekin fx-r two days ago. expecting it next week. i was just curious to hear about the outcry because i kinda liked the novak rooster crawler esc but didn't want to spend that money on another esc when i have a better one ("better" as in most peoples opinions) on the way. i know the fx-r is a little more expensive but i like the ability to adjust it unlike the rooster.
but again, i already liked the novak rooster, so i hope the fx-r could give me that sort of set up, plus some.

maybe i'll keep the outcry option on standby if i ever wanna get a cheep, fairly good esc.
jmini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 11:33 PM   #112
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kelowna, B.C., Canada
Posts: 590
Default

My Outcry esc stopped working a few days ago. there is no motor movement but the lights still go on like normal and the bec still works fine. Has this happened to anyone else.
ax-10 crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 11:43 PM   #113
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CALI "209"
Posts: 1,989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ax-10 crazy View Post
My Outcry esc stopped working a few days ago. there is no motor movement but the lights still go on like normal and the bec still works fine. Has this happened to anyone else.
Do you have steering?
finishline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 12:12 AM   #114
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kelowna, B.C., Canada
Posts: 590
Default

I have steering the bec works I just don't a have any movement from the motor and i have tried several motors that all worked on a different esc.
ax-10 crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 09:04 AM   #115
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: farmington
Posts: 52
Default

well have you tried turning the two position switch on and off. the esc will give a few bleeps when it gets power to the motor
Ndnchief10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 09:08 AM   #116
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kelowna, B.C., Canada
Posts: 590
Default

Yes, I have turned the switch on all the lights still work there is just no power to the motor.
ax-10 crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 07:12 PM   #117
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CALI "209"
Posts: 1,989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ax-10 crazy View Post
Yes, I have turned the switch on all the lights still work there is just no power to the motor.
My sons scaler did the same thing but it turned out the throttle trim on his DX3E got moved, i reset it and it was all good.
finishline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:15 PM   #118
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kelowna, B.C., Canada
Posts: 590
Default

I've adjusted he throttle trim a little then waited and changed it again but nothing fixed the problem.
ax-10 crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 09:52 AM   #119
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ax-10 crazy View Post
I've adjusted he throttle trim a little then waited and changed it again but nothing fixed the problem.
do you have a spare motor to test?

you might want to "carefully" hook your existing motor up to a 7.2v battery and see if it turns.
does the motor spin freely?
rcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 10:50 AM   #120
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kelowna, B.C., Canada
Posts: 590
Default

I have tried three different motors and they all worked on a different esc.
ax-10 crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com