Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Tekin 35t machine wound Q's.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2010, 10:51 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Tekin 35t machine wound Q's.

I just installed the Tekin FXR and 35t on my scx tr last night. Now when I drive the motor makes alot of noise and when in reverse it sounds alot worse and acts like it is dragging on something inside. When trying to drive slow it is jerky. Just wondering if this is normal for this motor. Also should the motor be hard to turn without the gear on it and just turning it by hand, because it is. I am new to this hobby and thanks for any help.
jgammill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-04-2010, 11:02 AM   #2
dkf
Rock Crawler

The motor shaft will not spin really easy because of the magnetic field from the magnets in the motor. Check to make shure your gear mesh between the pinion and spur gear is not too tight.
dkf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:05 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper

x2 make sure the mesh on the pinion and spur are not to tight also did you break in you motor good?
snail78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:09 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper

My motor makes some noise, the brushes click.

gear mesh

Everyone said its the brushes breaking in. I've run probably 5 packs through it (roughly 5 hrs of runtime) and it still clicks. Doesn't bother me though, still performs well. Maybe I didn't break it in properly, I dunno. I ran it with the tires off the ground for a couple minutes, then ran the rest of the pack through it doing mostly flat stuff. The second pack I went ahead and did some hardcore crawlin.
Bray D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:21 AM   #5
Quarry Creeper

to set the gap on mine i use a post it just put a post it sheet between the pinion and first drive gear in my R2D and thats how i set the gap and if you cant see it then just tear the paper till you can see