RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Electronics (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/)
-   -   Water Proofing Electronics (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/26785-water-proofing-electronics.html)

rockpanda 10-30-2011 04:13 AM

I run my rx and esc in balloons and my servos are waterproof bluebird 1's.

rockpanda 10-30-2011 04:14 AM

Update... Shorted out motor in mud and smoked my esc in the space of 10 mins!

rockpanda 10-30-2011 04:11 PM

I have done some investigating and I have discovered that the mud went down the inside of my motor wires. If you plan to balloon the electronics, make sure that you cable tie all of the wires quite tight.

walthor 11-07-2011 06:27 PM

I've been boating for many years now and one thing I've learned, you can't keep all the water out. The best you can do is control it.
Balloons are great and will keep water off your rx ONLY if you put a loop into the wiring and put the rx higher than than the loop. That forces water to run uphill and as we all know, we are all prisoners of gravity. CorrosionX is an excellent waterproofer as well. Stinks awful but it protects electronics really well. Just immerse your servos, rx batteries etc, let it dry overnight and you have a nice water barrier. Open up the electronics to let it seep into all the corners.
In my boats I have accepted the fact that water will get into my radio box. I try to minimize it but do some things to keep my equipment dry. I use the hollow pool noodles, cut them in half and put my rx & batteries in there. Keeps it high, dry and cushions it. As added protection for my servos, I throw in a few tampons int the radio box as well. They wick away moisture like crazy. When the day is over, I just squeeze them out and leave everything open to dry. In fact on a car, buggy or crawler I can't see why you wouldn't put a small drainage hole in the radio box to let water it drain out.