Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2014, 11:59 AM   #2141
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Crawlolina
Posts: 350
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

For those who have asked "will the blah blah blah rx work with my 4PLS?"
lostonthetrails is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-06-2014, 04:18 PM   #2142
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: dark corner
Posts: 485
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Sold my 4pl today and bought the 4pls. I can't get my bold rx's to bind to my new radio and I can't get my dig to work. :( someone help.
jeremyfowler33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 06:23 AM   #2143
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pewee Valley, Kentucky
Posts: 215
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

I just bought a 4PLS, can anyone tell me which charger I need to get if I want to use NiMH batteries? The manual isn't very clear on this.

Last edited by Jeff@TireBalls; 03-07-2014 at 06:26 AM.
Jeff@TireBalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 08:19 PM   #2144
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area (RWC)
Posts: 536
Default

I want to buy a 2nd 4PL for my son. My question is, can I program 2 radios to drive the same car.

I want to share my rc car collection with my son and be able to drive with him. Not sure how Futaba handles that.
MaxxPain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 08:34 PM   #2145
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Posts: 128
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxxPain View Post
I want to buy a 2nd 4PL for my son. My question is, can I program 2 radios to drive the same car.

I want to share my rc car collection with my son and be able to drive with him. Not sure how Futaba handles that.
You will need to rebind the receiver to go from one radio to the other, but it doesn't need to be linked to a specific model on the radio.
Stregone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:31 PM   #2146
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area (RWC)
Posts: 536
Default

Are you saying each time I use the car I would need to rebind it.
MaxxPain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 08:30 AM   #2147
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxxPain View Post
Are you saying each time I use the car I would need to rebind it.
Only if you are switching radios. The RX is bound to whatever radio you last used it with. You wouldn't want your son to turn on his TX while you were driving and suddenly send it off in the wrong direction.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 10:28 AM   #2148
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NTG Racing - San Diego
Posts: 113
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley View Post
Only if you are switching radios. The RX is bound to whatever radio you last used it with. You wouldn't want your son to turn on his TX while you were driving and suddenly send it off in the wrong direction.
what about setting one RX to different models for the same rig but different settings, for instance:

model #1: my settings
model #2: my son's settings
pmadrid13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 10:35 AM   #2149
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmadrid13 View Post
what about setting one RX to different models for the same rig but different settings, for instance:

model #1: my settings
model #2: my son's settings
Yup, the radio will do that just fine. That is one big difference between a Futaba and something like a Spektrum.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:11 PM   #2150
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NTG Racing - San Diego
Posts: 113
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley View Post
Yup, the radio will do that just fine. That is one big difference between a Futaba and something like a Spektrum.
Thank you Harley, I been running Spektrums for a while and will be converting over to Futaba. This should cut back on some of the damage my son has cause on some of my rigs.
pmadrid13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 03:30 PM   #2151
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area (RWC)
Posts: 536
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmadrid13 View Post
what about setting one RX to different models for the same rig but different settings, for instance:

model #1: my settings
model #2: my son's settings

Thats a great idea..
MaxxPain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:40 AM   #2152
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pewee Valley, Kentucky
Posts: 215
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

I searched the thread but couldn't find the answer. Can someone help me setup my radio for lights? I have the heyok dual light 3 position controller to operate the stock Wraith lights and a VP MORE light bar. I can get the lights to turn on with the DT1 switch but they are very dim. What am I missing?
Jeff@TireBalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:04 AM   #2153
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TireBalls View Post
I searched the thread but couldn't find the answer. Can someone help me setup my radio for lights? I have the heyok dual light 3 position controller to operate the stock Wraith lights and a VP MORE light bar. I can get the lights to turn on with the DT1 switch but they are very dim. What am I missing?
The MORE light needs to be run on a 3s power source (12v), the RX is probably only supplying it with 7.4 at the max.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:11 AM   #2154
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pewee Valley, Kentucky
Posts: 215
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley View Post
The MORE light needs to be run on a 3s power source (12v), the RX is probably only supplying it with 7.4 at the max.

I tried it with another stock VP bar that I have and it's the same thing, they are so dim that you can hardley tell their on.
Jeff@TireBalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:12 AM   #2155
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TireBalls View Post
I tried it with another stock VP bar that I have and it's the same thing, they are so dim that you can hardley tell their on.
VP light bars are also designed to run on 12v.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:14 AM   #2156
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pewee Valley, Kentucky
Posts: 215
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

But they will run on 7.4 and still be pretty bright according to the MORE thread. Something else is going on.
Jeff@TireBalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:15 AM   #2157
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pewee Valley, Kentucky
Posts: 215
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Can you do a wright up on how to proberly setup this controller on DT1?
Jeff@TireBalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:16 AM   #2158
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TireBalls View Post
But they will run on 7.4 and still be pretty bright according to the MORE thread. Something else is going on.
Sounds like you have a voltage issue. I would check the output of the Heyok and see what voltage it has.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:17 AM   #2159
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TireBalls View Post
Can you do a wright up on how to proberly setup this controller on DT1?
I don't have one of the controllers. I'd have to look into the setup. Should be a standard 3 position setup like I have link on the first page.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 02:00 AM   #2160
Proverbial threadkiller
 
Trubble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,453
Question Re: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Ummmmmm,
let's say there was 'this guy'......

and he did some mod on his 4PL to gain more forward travel on the throttle trigger......

and since this is a completely hypothetical scenario,......

let's say he went through the adjuster procedure (p 97? in the manual).....

and just for giggles, let's say it was a success........

Now, are the new endpoints learned, in ALL model memories?
Or just model memory #3, and the Adjuster process has to be repeated in each and every profile?
Trubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/277689-futaba-4pl-setup-tips-tricks-help.html
Posted By For Type Date
Futaba 4PL - Modelbouwforum.nl This thread Refback 11-08-2011 05:06 AM
Scaler Radio Help - Radios & Servos @ URC Forums This thread Refback 11-02-2011 02:46 PM
e-Modelismo - Maior Comunidade de Modelismo em Português - Ver Tópico - Futaba 4PL This thread Refback 10-27-2011 03:41 PM
Futaba 4PL 4-Channel 2.4GHz SFHSS Transmitter/Receiver - RemoteD - Fjrrstyrd Hobby This thread Refback 10-24-2011 03:51 AM
Futaba T4PL - Elektronik - rockcrawler.de This thread Refback 10-11-2011 04:01 AM
4PL Dual ESC - YouTube This thread Refback 10-09-2011 08:27 AM
ZONACRAWLING • Ver Tema - emisora 4pl This thread Refback 10-05-2011 04:42 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com