Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Futaba 4PL Setup, Tips, Tricks & Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2011, 08:16 PM   #1041
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default

4PK case works great and is great quality. If you want something a little cheaper just about anything made for a 3R works well too.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-25-2011, 11:13 AM   #1042
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 579
Default

Too long to read, sorry if this was asked before

Is there a way to set it so on the main screen you can see a percentage of the mixing?
DioptricStraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 11:22 AM   #1043
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DioptricStraw View Post
Too long to read, sorry if this was asked before

Is there a way to set it so on the main screen you can see a percentage of the mixing?
No, that is one advantage of the 4PK. For future reference, you can search a thread on the upper right hand side.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:08 PM   #1044
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Depew
Posts: 1,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DioptricStraw View Post
Too long to read, sorry if this was asked before

Is there a way to set it so on the main screen you can see a percentage of the mixing?
Nope, but you can do this:

Menu -> Advanced -> Dual ESC

Then just drive from that menu. It shows you if you're in dig and what percentage the ESC's are at. That's how I drive with mine.
articzap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:52 PM   #1045
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 2,213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by articzap View Post
Nope, but you can do this:

Menu -> Advanced -> Dual ESC

Then just drive from that menu. It shows you if you're in dig and what percentage the ESC's are at. That's how I drive with mine.
Good tip Articzap I'm setting up my wifes right now and can tell you that its pretty cool, and has the visual 4x4 type indicator lika a 1:1 truck
Rig Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:04 AM   #1046
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 2,213
Default

I'd like to thank Harley for working with futaba to get this radio released and updated. It's perfect for most crawlers, and the price is perfect

I setup the wifes new rig & 4pl yesterday and had only one issue. The throttle ch and ch4 need to be reversed before calibrating ESC, or the motors will spin backwards in relation to throttle. Didn't know what I was doing wrong so I did a search of this thread and found mrdrinksalil had posted up with the same issue. Reversed the two channels and recalibrated, and presto! Perfecto!

You should add the channel reverse instruction to the first post Harley

The 4PL is no 4PKS, but it definitely Rocks!
Rig Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:17 AM   #1047
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 187
Default

So I bit the bullet and picked up a 4pl from my LHS the other day, 239 OTD, which I thought was an good price. I'm running it on my shafty with Dig, so a few questions here.

I want to setup where I can have 4wd, freewheel and locked for the dig servo. I've read through the manual a couple of times and have tried some "solutions" but nothing has worked to this point. Can you give a walkthrough Harley?

Thanks

BTW, so far I love this radio, aside from the dig servo, everything has been easy to set up/use. Now I just need to pick up a XR10 and use this radio to its full potential
YJJPWrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:22 AM   #1048
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YJJPWrangler View Post
I want to setup where I can have 4wd, freewheel and locked for the dig servo. I've read through the manual a couple of times and have tried some "solutions" but nothing has worked to this point. Can you give a walkthrough Harley?
Not really sure why I don't have a video on how to do that My bad. I will get one up soon. Here is a walkthrough though.

Go to the Dial/SW menu.
Select Trim.Dial
Select which DT switch you want to control your dig.

Set the values to the following:
DT(#):CH3 (or CH4)
:100
:NOR

Last edited by Harley; 04-26-2011 at 11:25 AM.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:44 AM   #1049
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 187
Default

hey man no worries, that seems like an easy setup that I could even follow

I appreciate the help/time that you have taken with this thread
YJJPWrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:45 AM   #1050
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YJJPWrangler View Post
hey man no worries, that seems like an easy setup that I could even follow

I appreciate the help/time that you have taken with this thread
No problem. Let me know if you need anything else.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 11:14 AM   #1051
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The beautiful Pacific Northwest
Posts: 6,923
Default

Holy hell...information overload by page 36.

My main question is:

If I'm going to run rear steer on a scaler, is there a thumbwheel like the 4pk to roll from side to side? Also, can you set it up to auto center with the push of a button?

Thanks, Tim.
War Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 11:20 AM   #1052
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by War Pig View Post
Holy hell...information overload by page 36.

My main question is:

If I'm going to run rear steer on a scaler, is there a thumbwheel like the 4pk to roll from side to side? Also, can you set it up to auto center with the push of a button?

Thanks, Tim.
The 4PL does not have the rollers like the 4PK. It has two of the DT (rocker) switches where the wheels are on the 4PK.

There is no auto center feature unless you are running the built in 4WS option. Have you taken a look at that video? It is linked in the first post.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:45 PM   #1053
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 187
Default

Hey Harley,

Just got my dig programmed per your instructions, holy crap was that easy. Dig functions perfect now. Took it out to our local LHS with an indoor crawling setup and was able to make some climbs that I couldn't make before. Had to freewheel going up, then pop in 4wd to make it.

4pl worked great. Also talked to the owner and pimped the 4pl to him, he's going to order some and carry them.

Thanks again for the easy instructions.

Zack
YJJPWrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 07:12 AM   #1054
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YJJPWrangler View Post
Thanks again for the easy instructions.

Zack
Glad everything worked well for you. If you have any other questions you know where to find me.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:29 AM   #1055
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The beautiful Pacific Northwest
Posts: 6,923
Default

Thanks for the response Josh. Not planning on using the 4ws option right now....I like to have independent control.

In fact after reading this thread, I ordered a 4pl from Tower last night and 2 extra receivers from RPP (tower was out). Should be here next week. Thanks again. Tim.
War Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 05:00 PM   #1056
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Where Jeep axles are made
Posts: 440
Default

just got my 4pl yesterday and set it up today. It was really easy to program the dig thanks to harley. I used DT4 for my dig on my lcc.
Thanks for the help
and for those thinking of geting one, GET IT! its as amazing as you think it is
minnesotamudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:06 AM   #1057
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southwestern Pa.
Posts: 866
Default

Ok, scaler application.....Running 4WS on channels 1 and 3. Works well...My winch is on channel 4 activated on DT2 at 100% forward and reverse with a pause in the middle. Still good. The problem is when I run my winch, it also moves the rear steer on channel 3....I searched the menu 4 times with no luck as to why this happens...Any ideas on what is wrong with my setup?
Pappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:08 AM   #1058
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappy View Post
Ok, scaler application.....Running 4WS on channels 1 and 3. Works well...My winch is on channel 4 activated on DT2 at 100% forward and reverse with a pause in the middle. Still good. The problem is when I run my winch, it also moves the rear steer on channel 3....I searched the menu 4 times with no luck as to why this happens...Any ideas on what is wrong with my setup?
Check the PMIX menu and make sure it is not mixing channel 3 and 4.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:16 AM   #1059
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southwestern Pa.
Posts: 866
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley View Post
Check the PMIX menu and make sure it is not mixing channel 3 and 4.
Oh crap! Wrong thread....Got a 4PKS...Same solution?
Pappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:20 AM   #1060
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,981
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappy View Post
Oh crap! Wrong thread....Got a 4PKS...Same solution?
Yessir. Check PMIX 1 and 2, just switch them to INH.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/277689-futaba-4pl-setup-tips-tricks-help.html
Posted By For Type Date
Futaba 4PL - Modelbouwforum.nl This thread Refback 11-08-2011 05:06 AM
Scaler Radio Help - Radios & Servos @ URC Forums This thread Refback 11-02-2011 02:46 PM
e-Modelismo - Maior Comunidade de Modelismo em Português - Ver Tópico - Futaba 4PL This thread Refback 10-27-2011 03:41 PM
Futaba 4PL 4-Channel 2.4GHz SFHSS Transmitter/Receiver - RemoteD - Fjrrstyrd Hobby This thread Refback 10-24-2011 03:51 AM
Futaba T4PL - Elektronik - rockcrawler.de This thread Refback 10-11-2011 04:01 AM
4PL Dual ESC - YouTube This thread Refback 10-09-2011 08:27 AM
ZONACRAWLING • Ver Tema - emisora 4pl This thread Refback 10-05-2011 04:42 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com