Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: wheel speed

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2010, 07:04 AM   #1

Default wheel speed

hello,
i do not have the resolution i want at low throttle. i'm looking for very low wheel speed at initial trigger pull. as it is, the minimum RPM i can get out of the motors generates too much wheel speed. it's not very controlled or fun.

currently it has berg axles, blitz 40t motors with 12t pinions front and rear. the esc is a m2 dig and i'm using 3 cell lipos.

i see that a lot of you use 40t or even 35t motors with great success. can you still get low RPMs? i assumed that less turns means less torque but does it also mean higher minimum RPM?

i've fussed with ESC and transmitter settings to no avail.

i appreciate any feedback. i'm a noob trying to ramp up as fast as possible.

thanks much!
lunarbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-28-2010, 07:35 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

What radio? If it has an exponential (EXPO), then turn that down some. You want your throttle curve to look similar to this (although, probably not as exaggerated):
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 11:35 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyH View Post
What radio? If it has an exponential (EXPO), then turn that down some. You want your throttle curve to look similar to this (although, probably not as exaggerated):

X2

The M2 is very twitchy out of the box. I've set my expo on my DX3R to 40%, it has mellowed out the low-end throttle control and made it very predictable and controllable.
Greatscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 12:08 PM   #4

thanks for the responses.
i'm using a 4pks. i'll continue fiddling with exponential. it does change the curve but it does not change minimum RPMs.

even if i leave the trigger in neutral and trim forward until the motors juuuust start to turn the wheels are already too fast.