Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Dual ESC et Power Cap

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 07:39 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: French Guiana
Posts: 433
Default Dual ESC et Power Cap

Hello,

Sorry if the question were put several times, but I did not find an answer.

On my Berg, I use dual Tekin Fx-R ESC (since a long moment) with 2 x 40T and 3S LiPo (and Castel BEC). I remade electric wiring, as on the diagram below :



I use one Power Cap for 2 esc, that can create problems to use only one Power Cap ??

Thank you for your answers
TotoRax is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-29-2010, 07:42 PM   #2
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,290
Default

You will want as short of wires from one ESC to the other, and the largest wire you can find to decrease the inductance. It would be a good idea to get a lower ESR cap or double the capacitance to reduce voltage ripple as well, but without knowing what ripple you have already I can't give values for it.

In short it is workable, but using two caps would be better for the system.
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 03:14 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: French Guiana
Posts: 433
Default

Big thank you for your clear answer

I use 14awg wire. In fact, I thought replaces the 2 Tekin power cap for one power cap of my Rooster Crawler.

Tekin : 16V 330F
Novak : 16V 680F

But I am not a specialist in electronics and I prefer to solicit your advised councils

Last edited by TotoRax; 11-30-2010 at 03:24 AM.
TotoRax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 08:37 AM   #4
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,290
Default

The ESR of the cap is really more important than the capacity of it. If the novak cap has a higher ESR you are worse off than running two of the tekin caps in parallel.
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 02:44 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: French Guiana
Posts: 433
Default

Thanks

I will take your advice and will assemble 2 x Tekin power cap
TotoRax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com