Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Newbie to crawling need help.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2011, 12:41 PM   #1

Default Newbie to crawling need help.

Hi I am new to this world. Im currently experimenting with getting onto this hobby permanently as I have a young son that I want to teach when he is old enough.

I bought a NB rockcrawler Jeep to start off with because it was cheap. I know most of the good and bad about them. I have done some basic mods to the suspension and tires. I am having a few issues that i need advise on.

First, the rearend is grinding pretty bad and I want to upgrade the gears the metal. I cant get the clips on the axle tubes to depress so it will come apart. Is there a special tool to get these things off?

I was also thinking about using a stronger motor but dont really know what to look for outputwise for a crawler. I dont want to put a high speed motor because then Im having to do gear reductions and such. Any ideas?

The steering servo has trouble under a bind, but i guess thats normal. Im thinking that if I go to a 3cell lipo that will correct itself. I assume that going from 9.6v to 11.1v will increase the output without burning up the controller. Oh, and Im going to convert it to four wheel steering so Im adding another steering servo so I think ill have to increase the output somehow anyways.

I have currently just aired down the tires some and added an inch the the shock screws and cut 1.5 coils off each spring. It made a rediculous difference in where it would go from stock. So basically...without spending an enormous amount of money, i want it to go anywhere I aim it. Or over anything.

I appreciate any advise I can get...wont apperciate NB bashing as much though...I know its toy grade yada yada...but I cant spend 300 on an axial and dont want to get bored and have wasted all that money if I decide to stop messing with it.

Thanks in advance,
rick