Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: 2 Pole vs 4 Pole?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2011, 09:04 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default 2 Pole vs 4 Pole?

Hey guys. I'm new to rc and am still learning. Can anyone tell me what the difference between 2 and 4 poles is in a ESC? I'm guessing they are talking about the ESC. Here is the motor ESC combos I'm looking at incase anyone is as confused as me.
http://www.hobbypartz.com/26p-blcomb...5a-7200kv.html
http://www.hobbypartz.com/26p-blcomb...5a-6100kv.html
What I was looking for was a super cheap sensored brushless motor. I don't think that is what this is. But maybe one is better for rock crawling than the other?
toyotatrucks83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-01-2011, 09:11 PM   #2
RCC Addict

I didn't bother to click the links, but can tell you right off most use 1000-2000kv motors in crawlers. I have a 3300 kv in my scaler and it's pretty fast, like slash with a VXL fast.
indiana mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:31 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

The pole count is referring to the motor. 4 poles usually have a lil more torque and are a bit more efficient than a 2 pole. Both combos you linked are not crawler suited. They are both 1/18 systems and way to high a kv rating. As stated above look down into the 2500 and below area. They are both sensor less systems. I think the Xerun is their sensored line but far overpriced for what you get. Might as will get a mamba pro for the price of the hobbywing stuff
highlandcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 05:40 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by highlandcrawler View Post