Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: futaba rx antenna

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2011, 03:21 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default futaba rx antenna

The rx with the 4pl I've seen one post saying don't put the antenna in the rx box because of range. Has anyone experienced this first hand? Looking to clean up my rig
squish72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-03-2011, 03:26 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Somebody said it in the 4PL thread, from first hand experience. I read it just today but it is burried somewhere from page 20-34
jevyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:22 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

Yeah that's where I saw it but never said how bad it shortened the range. Just so used to spektrums so I'm new to the futaba workings
Old 02-03-2011, 05:29 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

I have NOT tried this.....but normal crawling you are close enough to not have a range issue.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:35 PM   #5
Rock Stacker

I have a futaba receiver which had the antenna mostly vaporized when it came in contact with the motor terminals. All that's left is about a 1" nub. I haven't tested the range, but haven't had an issue with crawling. If mine still works without issue, chances are you won't have any problems.
kirex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 01:57 PM   #6
Rock Crawler

Wanted to update. Got my 4pl back and opened the rx unplugged the antenna wire and tested the distance I could the farthest I could get in my back yard was about 23 yards away from my tx with it in the house doors closed and the rx was still hooked up with a solid green light. Set the truck down and grabbed my tx worked great at that range more than double what I've ever used my crawler. So if your worried about distance I can say you can safely run these rx in a crawler with the antenna unplugged from the rx
Old 02-08-2011, 03:22 PM   #7
I wanna be Dave

Quote: