Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: HELP!!! New to Lithiums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2011, 04:45 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default HELP!!! New to Lithiums

Hello, I just bought some lithium cells the other day but need help to decide what to charge them on. I'm only new to lithiums. I'm not sure what brand they are, probably cheap chinese ones. They have part number lir123a on them and are 600mah 3.6v.
My charger is a Swallow AC/DC EQ charger, and has the following lithium charges: LiIo, LiPo, LiFePO4 (A123).

I when to the hobby shop that I bought the lithiums from and he said use the LiFe setting because they are 123 type batteries, which would seem obvious compared to the part number. BUT... my charger LiFe setting is 3.3v per cell and my cells have 3.6v printed on them. I Googled the part number and found a chinese supplier website which says this part number is a lithium ion (which fits with my chargers LiIo 3.6v charge rate)

...So I'm pretty confused, but I'm confident that I can rule out the LiPo setting. The guy that runs the hobby shop said these cells are really safe (unless intentionally abusing them), they won't blow up or catch fire, and don't really need to be ballanced, and don't need a voltage cut off. I think he mentioned something about magnesium in them too if that helps.

Any help is much appreciated
patrol_maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-05-2011, 04:48 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

BTW, The battery packs I made are just 2 cells in series and currently measure around 7.6v per pack, and I haven't charged them yet.
The packs are built for my AX10.
Old 02-05-2011, 06:07 PM   #3

i'm no where near an expert but the little i read on this the otherday would say for you to use the LiFe setting. and yes those are supposed to be safer batteries. you might look to make sure the charger is truly compatabile with the 123 type battery, otherwise go for it.