Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Servo, Voltage and size

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 01:55 AM   #1

Default Servo, Voltage and size

Hi everyone
I hope that it is ok for me to open a new thread, but this is something I feel is sort of specific and not really something I could search for.

I am still new in the crawler world, so my budget is very limited.
My AX10 RTC is still stock, and one area where I really feel changes are needed is in the steering. I have ordered the aluminium upgrade links, but now I am considering the servo thing too.

The AE1 esc is sucky, and since it doesn't have any drag brake anyway, I plan to put in my xl5 esc and reverse the motor (which will solve the quick reverse thing i think).

Ok, so the XL5 says "BEC: 6Volt 1 Amp".

Firstly, does this mean I must get a 6 volt servo, or can i use for instance this one (which says the oeprating voltage is 4.8V).
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=12451

How do I go about understanding the voltages and what can and what cannot be done.

Secondly, I don't know what 'sizes' to get, but I suppose the 40mm -B- size given is all that is important, as that is where the screws mount to the servo plate, right?

I hope to gain some insight on 'choosing a servo' from this. It's bad enough that I have to wait 6-7 weeks for an order from the states to here in South Africa, I want to choose the right stuff.

Oh, and will 15 KG suffice? Im sure thats already way more than the standard crappy AS1

Many thanks!
Marlon
mbvdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-2011, 09:05 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Marlon,