Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Help! Esc extremely hot!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2011, 02:41 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Help! Esc extremely hot!

Hello all. Let me first say, I'm new to crawling/trailing and new to these forums! I picked up as my starter crawler, a little CC-01 Unimog. Now, I'm a converted Nitro (savage) guy to electric and know a little bit about electronics, but not a ton.

I picked up a used ESC from a friend of mine. It's a LRP Automatic Runner Reverse (the waterproof one). I also but in a 4000mAh LiPo battery (deans ends). I was just running the guy around in my landscaping in the back yard and the ESC smells hot and is very hot to the touch (I use heat at my work everyday, so my hands aren't sensitive). Is this something I should be worried about? My good friend who owns the LHS didn't mention anything about the battery being too big for the ESC.

Any help is greatly appreciated and desperately needed!

P.S. It has the stock (27 turn?) motor in the crawler. (I also use crawler to describe crawlers and trail trucks)
xxCARLSONxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-17-2011, 07:08 AM   #2
Suck it up!

Could be your gearing. There are several things that could cause a hot esc...

Was the motor hot too? How about the battery? Any drag on the drivetrain? Hows the gear mesh?
Duuuuuuuude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 03:35 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

Well the gearing is stock, I'm not too sure what the stock hearing is, but I can figure it out. As for the motor, the motor gets pretty hot as well. The only drag I can think of, is that we locked the front diff (removed the one gear spider gear). When I say esc, I mean the cooling fins on top, since the esc is so small, those fins seem to heat everything around it. I'm thinking of putting a 55turn motor in soon, would this help the heat problem?
Old 03-17-2011, 03:57 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave