Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Brushless Motor Acting Like it has Turbo Lag??

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2011, 08:41 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,241
Default Brushless Motor Acting Like it has Turbo Lag??

Hey folks,

In my non-crawler, I've got a Castle 4600kv brushless motor (sensorless) controlled by a Castle Sidewinder. It was a package deal. Power is 3s LiPo. The problem is that the throttle is very nice and progressive 'til it gets to maybe 25% and the power instantly jumps up noticeably. It's very repeatable. When driving the car, you can hear/see when the unwanted "boost" kicks in. And despite how ginger you are with the throttle, it doesn't help. It's the same when the car is not under a load. Forward and reverse both do it.

I've tweaked the throttle curves to no avail. I've tried the various Castle Link parameters to see if I could tune this out, but nope. It's difficult to describe so if y'all would like, I can try to take a quick video to post what I'm talking about.

I admit I don't know much about brushless stuff. Is this common for brushless combos?

Thanks,
Tommy
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-21-2011, 09:30 AM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,265
Default

This is not normal for brushless motors, even if they are sensorless.

A friend of mine had similar issues with a MambaMax/4600kv combo on a Kyosho Snow Blizzard. There would be a sudden jump in the throttle response. The issue dissapeared when he tried an older version of the ESC software instead of the newest one. I can't remeber exactly which version, though.

Last edited by Tomy; 03-21-2011 at 03:10 PM.
Tomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 09:39 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,241
Default

Ooh, great idea! I haven't tried that yet... I'll give it a go when I head home at lunch. Thanks!
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 11:02 AM   #4
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,241
Default

1. Make sure you have programmed your radio endpoints to the ESC. I have seen this cause your issue.

2. Try a different firmware. It could be a glitch in the firmware you are running.

3. Try reloading your current firmware. There could have been an error when compiling it into the controller.
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 11:37 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,241
Default

That was it! I went to the latest non-beta software (1.24?) and the "lag" is gone and the throttle is once again nice and progressive.

Thanks, guys!!
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com