Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Sidewinder V2 super hot on 3S with brushed

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2011, 11:22 AM   #1

Default Sidewinder V2 super hot on 3S with brushed

Hi, first let me introduce myself, I'm a french noob crawler. I've spent quite some time lurking on this forum(Thanks guys for the good advices I could find here thank you as well for turning this little hobby into a money hole )

I own a ax10 with gc3a,sv2 esc,cc bec ,hh torquemaster 45T.
The torquemaster is my 3rd motor, I used to have a silvercan which died.

For the last month I have been using a revolver black( which is a brushless) on 3S with no issue but the cogging at low speed, I just switched to the torquemaster today since I like brushed better and the sidewinder gets hot very fast when i use the 3S. It happened as well with the silvercan , which I ended up using only with a 2S.
Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
steppinrazr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-15-2011, 12:07 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Whats your gearing (pinion/spur)? Gear mesh to tight? Does the motor get hot? Drag in the drivetrain? Everything set right via Castlelink?

I've never felt any of mine reg Sidewinders even get warm in a crawler.
indiana mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 12:16 PM   #3

I have the stock ax10 gearing 14/87, I have upgraded my tranny gears by all metal ones but there is no drag or bind in it nor in the drivetrain.

I used castlelink to set it to brushed, auto lipo, crawler 213%.. nothing special.

The motor gets warm on 2S after driving for a long time.

I drove it this afternoon for about 2 hours, 10 mins with the 3S and then the esc cut because of it's temperature. The remaining time, nearly 2 hours was with a 2S, the esc was cold and the motor at most was warm.