Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: AE-2 Questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2011, 01:02 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default AE-2 Questions.

Hi all, I'm new to the RC crawler world, I picked up a RTR SCX10 trail honcho yesterday with the "new" AE-2 ESC. I'm running a Venom 5000mah 2s LiPO. The AE-2 supposedly has a LiPO cutoff built in but I'm having a very hard time finding much info on it. What voltage does it cutoff at? I noticed my truck was a little down on power so I hooked the battery to the charger to discover 1 cell was 3.1v and the other was 2.96v. Shouldn't the ESC have cutoff before it got below 3v?
HahnsB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-2011, 01:09 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

i belive the cut off is when both cells reach 3.0 volts.
2500hdon37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 01:13 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

did you purchase it new? if so it is already setup for lipo cutoff,and yes it should have shut down before your voltage went that low.
fastfred28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 01:24 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

The cutoff is set to auto from the factory which I believe is 3 volts per cell so 6 volts for a 2S lipo. Did you happen to leave your battery plugged in for an extended period before charging it? Even when the ESC is switched off it continues to draw power unless the battery is physically unplugged.
forbid89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 01:40 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper