Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: scx 10 with a brushless motor. lots of glitching

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2011, 10:34 PM   #1
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey shore
Posts: 1,477
Default scx 10 with a brushless motor. lots of glitching

i put my cheap futaba fm radio in. it what i had.. the guy i bought it from showed me it worked on his spectrum radio. worked fine. any ideas?? thanks
m1009cucv is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-15-2011, 11:27 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rabble
Posts: 34
Default

What kind of glitching are you experiencing? Is the car getting a sudden blip of throttle that lasts momentarily?

I was having that issue, and have yet to come up with a solution that gets rid of the glitching 100%. But a few things help to lessen the glitching a lot. I was getting interference from the power cables into the signal cables. So make sure the wiring is clean as possible. Could also be the RX.
strungoutt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 05:28 AM   #3
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey shore
Posts: 1,477
Default

ok ill try it. sudden blip of throttle that lasts momentarily. thats what its doing
m1009cucv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 12:53 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rabble
Posts: 34
Default

You might not be able to completely remove the blip. It will probably just be far less severe and happen only very occassionally. Definetly worth the work to try it out.

I have yet to try a new RX. Might fix the problem also.
strungoutt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 05:53 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default

I'm guessing some of the issue is electrical noise from the ESC. To get the 3 phase power for the motor requires some rather fast electrical switching inside the ESC. This throws lots of RFI & EMI around which is picked up by the RX antenna.
On a brushed motor, this could be reduced by using caps on the motor, not sure about brushless.
As stated before, keep the antenna away from the ESC as well as the motor wires (as much as possible) along with the RX input wire, keep it short (bundled) and away from the ESC.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 08:39 AM   #6
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Franklin, Va
Posts: 456
Default

You could try changing the crystals on the esc and rx. Depending on the brushless system, it could be cogging, or pinion size..
Hoyta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:33 AM   #7
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: reelsville
Posts: 1,871
Default

You'll probably never stop it without switching to a 2.4 radio. Is this a Goat system? If so somewhere in tiny print in one of the four instruction manuals it says must be used with high end (AKA 2.4) radio systems. I went so far as removing every componet from the truck spread out on the bench with no wires near each other and it still glitched until I went 2.4.

With the price drop on decent radios lately, plus not having to ever worry about what channel your on the switch is more than worth it.
indiana mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 11:20 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rabble
Posts: 34
Default

I have also gone through the process of spreading out all the components in the SCX-10. I still get the glitch with the stock 2.4 axial RX and TX. I was thinking of upgrading to some sort of Spektrum or higher Futaba 2.4 GHZ to completely get rid of the glitch, but it happens so infrequently now. I don't want to spend more money to get a new radio when I have a 2.4 radio system.

Weird that mine still gets the glitch with a 2.4 radio system though.
strungoutt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 11:53 AM   #9
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: reelsville
Posts: 1,871
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strungoutt1 View Post
I have also gone through the process of spreading out all the components in the SCX-10. I still get the glitch with the stock 2.4 axial RX and TX. I was thinking of upgrading to some sort of Spektrum or higher Futaba 2.4 GHZ to completely get rid of the glitch, but it happens so infrequently now. I don't want to spend more money to get a new radio when I have a 2.4 radio system.

Weird that mine still gets the glitch with a 2.4 radio system though.
What ESC are you using? This could be a BEC problem also, for both of you.
indiana mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 09:51 AM   #10
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey shore
Posts: 1,477
Default

its a Novak Goat 2S Crawler Brushless System 21.5T i bought off a friend.. i saw it in the very small print.. nothing helped.
m1009cucv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 02:32 PM   #11
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey shore
Posts: 1,477
Default

happy to say no more glitch. i bought a used dx3e off a friend from work.. works perfect now. cant believe how much money i have into this thing already. adds up fast. its fun tho.
m1009cucv is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com