Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: What ESC to run with dual motor setup?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2011, 01:16 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default What ESC to run with dual motor setup?

I have been running a Novak Super Duty ESC in my crawler since 2004. It finally took a poo on me and started to smoke last week. Now usually when a speed controller burns up it quits working or the truck just takes off. This one still works but heat sink gets stupid hot. So my guess is that the BEC burned up. I would send it in to get fixed but I don't know if they would fix as it has been added to the discontinued list.

I have been reading up on the M2 with lots of mixed reviews and really dont know what else is out there for dual motor setup.

Run clod axles with 65T motors.
Rok Krawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-30-2011, 01:32 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

To start....go here.... http://www.teamnovak.com/cs/web_opti...x_tradein.html to see options for "up-trading" your ESC for a new/refurb one.
Next, what radio are you using and do you use/want a dig unit or proportional??

I was running a Futaba 3ch 3PM-x with a servo dig and a single ESC, recently switched to a WannAmix & dual ESC's (Castle Creations). I feel it is worthwhile to do the change.

The Novak M2's have had mixed reviews. Keep in mind people that are happy will tell a few others, people that are unhappy will tell the world.

I am a huge Novak fan, ever since they came out with the first FET ESC's.....a very long time ago. Never had an issue with any of them.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:36 PM   #3
Yashua

X2 on the novak equipment, i'm getting ready to tackle my esc/motors soon, i'm gonna use a rooster withservo dig switches because of budget for now.
CREEPERBOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 11:39 PM   #4
Pebble Pounder