Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 09:58 PM   #2301
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rancho Relaxo. California. USA. Earth.
Posts: 3,288
Default

Went through almost the same deal on a 3c with 0.6.1. Only thing changed in my setup was going from a 3b to 3c. Traced it to a hobbyking rx. Switched it out to a Flysky badged rx, binded and problem went away.

Only difference is I'm using a small esc to power the winch but it was acting the same way described.
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-28-2012, 11:07 PM   #2302
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meatwad View Post
Went through almost the same deal on a 3c with 0.6.1. Only thing changed in my setup was going from a 3b to 3c. Traced it to a hobbyking rx. Switched it out to a Flysky badged rx, binded and problem went away.

Only difference is I'm using a small esc to power the winch but it was acting the same way described.
Thats weird...
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:51 PM   #2303
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rancho Relaxo. California. USA. Earth.
Posts: 3,288
Default

Very weird. I was under the impression that hk and flysky rx's are the same stuff.

Chalking it up to faulty rx. Just thought it was worth mentioning to try another rx.
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 12:12 AM   #2304
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meatwad View Post
Very weird. I was under the impression that hk and flysky rx's are the same stuff.
I was too, all HK does, is buy 1000+ units at a time from Flysky, and flysky will rebadge it. Atleast, flysky told me 1000+ units to get a customized unit.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:48 AM   #2305
SuperShafty.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Visalia CA
Posts: 2,904
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
It needs to be 100% or 120%

In your previous description it says you assigned d/r switch to channel 3
i will change the DR to 100% and give it a shot.

Quote:
hey man, got a question. i am trying to setup a the ch. 3 DR switch to act as a 3 pos. winch controller.
I have a heyok 3 pos. winch controller wired into my servo.
when going through the REV menu following your steps above i do not get the same options you outline.

i will list, in order the options i get. and let me know anywhere it doesnt seem right to you.

1. long click on REV (now blinking small 1, and showing TR1)

2.i scroll to small 'd' and CH3, with the 'd' flashing.

3. short click with Enter and 'd' is solid with CH3 blinking.

4. short click Enter again. and it goes to the d BMO, (with MO flashing)

so pretty much at step 4 i get a completely different string of options, and am not sure what to do next. I just want either the dr CH3, the CH3 trim to be my 3 pos. winch controller.

I did just read some of the past pages, but having a hard time following. do you mind typing the clicks up for me man?

thanks again. loving the new radio
does the flasking "d" in step 2/3 mean dual rates?
mjderstine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:03 AM   #2306
I wanna be Dave
 
CODYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oakridge
Posts: 3,146
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Hope someone can help me with a problem I'm having with my gt3c with 6.1. When I pull the trigger the speed control does not engage until I have used about 1/3 of the trigger. I'm sure it is something simple: I have tried adjusting the trim, calibrated the radio several times, setup esc to rx with different epa-trim settings. I want the esc to engage at the beginning of the throttle. Thanks for your help!!!
CODYBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:06 AM   #2307
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by CODYBOY View Post
Hope someone can help me with a problem I'm having with my GT3C with 6.1. When I pull the trigger the speed control does not engage until I have used about 1/3 of the trigger. I'm sure it is something simple: I have tried adjusting the trim, calibrated the radio several times, setup ESC to RX with different EPA-trim settings. I want the ESC to engage at the beginning of the throttle. Thanks for your help!!!
1-You really don't need to "calibrate" the radio
2-You only really need to bind the TX & RX
3-To calibrate the ESC to the RX:
-Throttle trims to "0" (including subtrims)
-Throttle EPA's to "100%"
-Calibrate the ESC (how depends on the ESC)

Also check to see if you have "EXPO" set in the TX on the throttle channel.

What ESC?
If a Castle ESC, do yoy have throttle curves set?
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:08 PM   #2308
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjderstine View Post
i will change the DR to 100% and give it a shot.



does the flasking "d" in step 2/3 mean dual rates?
E.point needs to be at 100%

yes "d" means the d/r switch
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 05:17 PM   #2309
SuperShafty.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Visalia CA
Posts: 2,904
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
E.point needs to be at 100%

yes "d" means the d/r switch
ok, so i fixed my mistake, and guess what!!!!!

its works it works!!! (frankenstein voice)

its mapped to the DR for channel 3, there is about a 1-2 second delay on start-up and stop, but it does the trick!
mjderstine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 05:27 PM   #2310
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjderstine View Post
ok, so i fixed my mistake, and guess what!!!!!

its works it works!!! (frankenstein voice)

its mapped to the DR for channel 3, there is about a 1-2 second delay on start-up and stop, but it does the trick!
The delay sounds like the winch controller in use (what is it?)
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 05:51 PM   #2311
I wanna be Dave
 
CODYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oakridge
Posts: 3,146
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Thanks Charlie that fixed it!!!!
CODYBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:18 PM   #2312
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by CODYBOY View Post
Thanks Charlie that fixed it!!!!
Great....what was it? I will assume it was radio expo?
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:53 PM   #2313
SuperShafty.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Visalia CA
Posts: 2,904
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
The delay sounds like the winch controller in use (what is it?)
its a heyok 3 pos
mjderstine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:02 PM   #2314
I wanna be Dave
 
CODYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oakridge
Posts: 3,146
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie-III View Post
Great....what was it? I will assume it was radio expo?
No, I had the trim set at 50%. Changed to 0 and reset tx to esc and restarted. Oh by the way the esc is Tekin rs.
my wife and I were back in New England for three weeks in first part of Oct. We photograghed fall colors and visited with family. Did eight states and logged 2200 miles on rental car. I thought about contacting you but couldn't put my camera down long enough to do so. Made it home the week before Sandy!!!
CODYBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:30 PM   #2315
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 25
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Can this be used with 0.6.1 as well?

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
For 0.4.0, and 0.3.2

Alright, just wrote this up in a PM...to setup 4ws and winches

ST trim buttons will work 4ws
-the it will give from rear only, even mix, front only...just cycle through the postions with the two buttons, you don't have to hold it)

D/R will work the rear winch
-(switch must be pressed for winch to wind.unwind)

and CH 3 Trim will work the front winch
-(switch must be pressed for winch to wind/unwind)

4WS -Ch1&3-ST Trim Buttons
Front Winch-CH4-CH 3 trim
Rear Winch-CH5-D/R switch

Activate 4WS mix

Long click EPA
4
3
0
NOC
Long enter

Map the 4WS mix to ST trim Buttons

Long Click REV
1
4WS
NOL
100
NOR
NOO
Press and hold enter
back

Map CH 3 Button to turn crab on/off

Long click REV
C
4WS
SWI
NOR
NPV
OFF
Press and hold enter
back

Map CH3 Trim switch to control Channel 4

Long click REV
3
CH4
MOM
Press and hold enter
back

Map D/R switch to control Channel 5

Long click REV
D
CH5
MOM
Press and hold enter
back
Sna08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:18 AM   #2316
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sna08 View Post
Can this be used with 0.6.1 as well?
Kinda, not really.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:49 AM   #2317
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 25
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

What's the best way to do 4ws? Any templates for it?

Last edited by Sna08; 11-30-2012 at 01:50 AM. Reason: Spellcheck
Sna08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:16 AM   #2318
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 25
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Hi losikid. Sorry for not introducing myself. I got the gt3c and got your hack kit for it because it can do 4ws mix and such though im not sure what the full potential is. I wanted to do 4ws like this. Let me know if its possible.

Channel 3 button - switch from crab, normal, opposing
Th trim - left would turn rear wheel to predetermine left and right trim button would turn it right
Sna08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:32 AM   #2319
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 87
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Hi all just got my hacked gt3c
Having trouble setting up my winch to work off 3rd channel can someone help me with a template? First time I've used a radio like this I'm lost.
Thanks in advance Scott
revo au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:33 AM   #2320
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

You need to assign a switch to control ch3

These may help
http://www.overkillrc.com/GT3X-Firmw...lp%20cards.pdf

And heres the manual

http://www.overkillrc.com/GT3X-Firmw...NUAL-0.6.1.txt
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/321742-gt3b-hack-question-answer-thread.html
Posted By For Type Date
RoboSavvy Forum :: View topic - SAM-3 Servo teardown This thread Refback 03-05-2013 12:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com