Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2013, 12:02 PM   #2921
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 88
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

ya I get the new site,
seems to work fine when I add stuff to the cart & go to checkout,..
looks good, I like the new theme.
Robotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-26-2013, 12:30 PM   #2922
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 617
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Same here, looking good.
DRTMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 12:33 PM   #2923
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Las Vegas 89121
Posts: 218
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Very nice.
Grundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 10:38 PM   #2924
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Also, if you didn't notice the "Product Help" link in the lower left hand corner, here it is

Product Help

I'm going to try and do a small write up a couple times a week till i get it all done. Once i get the firmware section complete i'll probably make some durable booklets of it to keep in your parts box
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:40 AM   #2925
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Very cool, this radio will be in my "wish list" for the wife to see

Sorry for the stupid newb question, but this will allow lights, winch, dig, etc to be functional from the tx/rx?

And the additional RX will plug into an AE-2 allowing multiple channels?
Richterat83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:01 AM   #2926
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 289
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Hi!
When I activate front dig my rear motor starts to make a noise, like the motors make when you are pulling the throttle just a little bit.
And when activating rear dig my front motor makes same noise.

My ESCs are both programmed the same way none of them in reverse.
My rear motor have the end bell turned 180 degrees.

My radio settings:
Ch2 Reverse
Ch3 Normal

Should i turn the endbell back to 0 degrees and change Ch3 to Reverse or turn the front motor to 180 degrees and flip the Ch2 to normal?
BliB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:03 AM   #2927
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by BliB View Post
Hi!
When I activate front dig my rear motor starts to make a noise, like the motors make when you are pulling the throttle just a little bit.
And when activating rear dig my front motor makes same noise.

My ESCs are both programmed the same way none of them in reverse.
My rear motor have the end bell turned 180 degrees.

My radio settings:
Ch2 Reverse
Ch3 Normal

Should i turn the endbell back to 0 degrees and change Ch3 to Reverse or turn the front motor to 180 degrees and flip the Ch2 to normal?
you need to calibrate the radio.

GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:05 AM   #2928
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richterat83 View Post
Very cool, this radio will be in my "wish list" for the wife to see

Sorry for the stupid newb question, but this will allow lights, winch, dig, etc to be functional from the tx/rx?

And the additional RX will plug into an AE-2 allowing multiple channels?
Yes and no

An additional rx is just an extra rx to be used in a different car
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:32 AM   #2929
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Roger that, that makes more sense.

Thanks!
Richterat83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:54 AM   #2930
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 289
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
you need to calibrate the radio.

GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread
Thanks!

If my voltage shows correctly, comparing what the radio says and what my battery charger says do i need to go though the voltage part of the calibration or is it just to press enter again?

Or could i even use what my battery charger tells me and scroll to that voltage in the TX?

Also, Im looking for RX that have the connectors laying down instead of the upright?
I did see the RX post but it was a long time since the last update =)
BliB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 12:05 PM   #2931
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

You don't need to to worry about the voltage if it is still accurate.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 12:29 PM   #2932
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 289
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Thanks for the quick reply!
BliB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 01:30 PM   #2933
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Middleburg Florida
Posts: 920
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Ok got a question for you. I know I can mix 2 esc's to control a motor each, but here is the catch. I want to use the motors to steer the vehicle. Kinda like a zero turn lawn mower or an rc tank. Can I use the trigger to move forward and back and mix in the steering wheel to speed up or slow the esc's to steer the vehicle?
Exocaged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 01:35 PM   #2934
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: vernon bc
Posts: 239
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

what is the range of this radio?
tnt-salvage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:50 PM   #2935
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exocaged View Post
Ok got a question for you. I know I can mix 2 esc's to control a motor each, but here is the catch. I want to use the motors to steer the vehicle. Kinda like a zero turn lawn mower or an rc tank. Can I use the trigger to move forward and back and mix in the steering wheel to speed up or slow the esc's to steer the vehicle?
Yes...
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:18 AM   #2936
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Middleburg Florida
Posts: 920
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
Yes...
Hell yeah this just made my day!!!

Time to start figuring out the set up.
Exocaged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:59 AM   #2937
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,314
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt-salvage View Post
what is the range of this radio?
While most of us are very close to our crawlers when driving, I've been ~120' away with no issues in an open area. No clue how much further I could have gone.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 10:39 AM   #2938
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: vernon bc
Posts: 239
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

thanks Charlie-III, I as well am usually with my crawler, but I am wanting to have multiple rigs and only one transmitter if possible. I guess I should check on model memory on these radios eh? haha
tnt-salvage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 02:43 PM   #2939
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 88
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt-salvage View Post
thanks Charlie-III, I as well am usually with my crawler, but I am wanting to have multiple rigs and only one transmitter if possible. I guess I should check on model memory on these radios eh? haha
I drove my SC10 with GT3B 4 neighborhood blocks down the street, no problem
Robotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 08:02 AM   #2940
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 21
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I managed to program the 3ch trim for separate rear steering, but it's pretty hard to use, so I would like to have also 4WS mix that I could enable with 3ch button, so it would be easier to use 4WS, because I rarely need to use only the separate rear steering.

So is it possible to have it that way, and if it is, how do I program it? I can't figure it out how to get them both to work at the same time...
Paul4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/321742-gt3b-hack-question-answer-thread.html
Posted By For Type Date
RoboSavvy Forum :: View topic - SAM-3 Servo teardown This thread Refback 03-05-2013 01:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com