Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2015, 01:38 AM   #3881
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

GT3C Update:

I'm hoping to get all orders shipped out tomorrow.

I'm going to try and get 10 more posted this weekend or sometime next week.

I have another batch of 20 coming in from china as well. Hopefully they don't get held up in customs again
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-01-2015, 01:10 PM   #3882
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I've recently upgraded my GT3b's firmware and I have a timer question. I searched and found some info but I didn't see anything yet that answers my question. I did find how to assign a button to turn off a timer and reset it so that being said here is my question: I was wondering if there is a way to not only start the timer with the throttle but also pause it with the throttle position in neutral. This is useful to see how long a battery lasts when the vehicle is under load of the throttle. I have a similar function on my DEVO 10 and I can then use that data to set a count down timer set to a known battery life time. In this way when I'm controlling my boat and the timer counts down I can know when to bring it back before the battery cuts off.

Also, where can I find the firmware setting for the throttle that turns on a timer?

I hope I'm not asking someone to reinvent the wheel, If there is a thread on this can you point me to it.

Thanks!
Jasenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 02:13 PM   #3883
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasenk View Post
I've recently upgraded my GT3b's firmware and I have a timer question. I searched and found some info but I didn't see anything yet that answers my question. I did find how to assign a button to turn off a timer and reset it so that being said here is my question: I was wondering if there is a way to not only start the timer with the throttle but also pause it with the throttle position in neutral. This is useful to see how long a battery lasts when the vehicle is under load of the throttle. I have a similar function on my DEVO 10 and I can then use that data to set a count down timer set to a known battery life time. In this way when I'm controlling my boat and the timer counts down I can know when to bring it back before the battery cuts off.

Also, where can I find the firmware setting for the throttle that turns on a timer?

I hope I'm not asking someone to reinvent the wheel, If there is a thread on this can you point me to it.

Thanks!
http://overkillrc.com/GT3B/GT3B-Firm...NUAL-0.6.1.txt

Code:
Operating timers:
=================
- select timer1 or timer2 main screen with rotate encoder
- timer1 is identified by left arrow, timer2 by right arrow
- lap count is written to 3char LCD place
- timer value is writen to 7seg + 3char LCD place in format:
    0000    - MMSS  minutes, seconds
    0000 %  - SSHH  seconds, hundredths (0.01 seconds)
- press ENTER to set timer params, use it as usual menu:
    H	set throttle trigger start	OFF/ON
	    timer will start after
	      throttle forward applied
    A	set alarm			0..255
	    in laps for lap counter
	    in minutes for others
    P	set timer type:
	    OFF		timer is off
	    UP		up timer
			    TxS start/pause timer
			    TxR stop + reset timer
	    DWN		down timer
			    TxS start/pause timer
			    TxR stop + reset timer and save rest time
				to lap times
			    when alarmed at time 0, starts counting
				up with "V" symbol blinking
	    LAP		lap timer - 100 lap times are saved
			    TxS record lap time, show it for 3s blinking
				  and during this time presses are ignored
				  to eliminate double click
				when timer not running, start timer
				when timer alarmed, stop timer and save
				  lap time
			    TxR stop timer
	    LPC		lap counter - till 255 laps
			    TxS increment lap counter, minimum 3 seconds
				between presses are required to eliminate
				double click
			    TxR zero lap counter
- pres ENTER-long to show saved lap times (only for LAP and DWN timers):
    > It is possible to see lap number (indicated by 'L' at 7seg number)
      or time showed as other timer values. Press ENTER to switch between
      lap number and time value
    > use rotate encoder to switch between lap numbers or lap times
    > there are special lap number identificators also at 3char display:
	- Txx	- total time, 'xx' is number of laps
	- Axx	- average time, 'xx' is number of laps
	- RES	- pres ENTER and lap times will be erased, it is also
		  displayed when showing lap time
Code:
Functions assignable to keys:
=============================
OFF		- nothing
CHn		- switch channel "n" value from one end value to opposite end
		  value. There is special handling for CH3 button. When using
		  3-position switch instead of CH3 button and momentary is
		  selected for this button, then centre 3-pos value will also
		  be detected and set to servo (use 1K resistor to GND to get
		  middle state)
CnR		- reset value of channel "n" to centre
4WS		- switch crab (CRB) no-crab (NOC) for 4 wheel steering
DIG		- switch DIG mix between -100 and 100 (more useable when using
		  return to previous val key setting)
DGR		- reset DIG mix to centre
MP1		- Multi-Position 1, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
MR1		- Multi-Position 1 Reset, switches position to first one
MP2		- Multi-Position 2, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
MR2		- Multi-Position 2 Reset, switches position to first one
MP3		- Multi-Position 3, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
MR3		- Multi-Position 3 Reset, switches position to first one
MP4		- Multi-Position 4, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
MR4		- Multi-Position 4 Reset, switches position to first one
T1S		- start/pause timer1
T1R		- stop + reset timer1
T2S		- start/pause timer2
T2R		- stop + reset timer2
BRK		- switch on full brake, this overrides throttle position
BLS		- battery low shutup, stop beeping, predefined to END-long

Code:
- Key mapping specific for each model:
    > choose menu REV and press ENTER-long
    > menu REV will blink
    > choose trims (id: 1 2 3 d) or other keys (CH3: C, Back: b, End: E) or
        if trim is OFF, then also trim keys (id 1 2 3 d with left/right arrow)
    > press ENTER and modify first setting
    > press ENTER and modify next setting
    > ....
    -----

 -----
    steps of setting of keys (C b E 1< 1> 2< 2> 3< 3> d< d>):
	- sequence:
	  function -> momentary -> reverse -> prev_val -> function_long -> reverse_long -> prev_val_long
	- function: selected function listed at the end of manual
	- MO momentary: only available for 2-state functions (channel, ...)
	    0 - switch, key press will switch something (channel value, ...)
	    1 - momentary, value change will be active only while key is pressed
	- RE reverse: only available for 2-state functions
	    0 - normal, no-press or default value is left endpoint
	    1 - reverse, no-press or default value is right endpoint
	- PV prev_val: only available for 2-state functions
	    0 - key release or OFF state sets value to left endpoint (noREV)
	    1 - key release or OFF state sets value to value active before
		  key press or ON state
	- function_long: function applied when long press of key happens,
	                 choose from the same list as function,
			 identified by "V" symbol
	- reverse_long: same as "reverse" + "V" symbol
	- prev_val_long: same as "prev_val" + "V" symbol
There is not a way for the timer to stop on throttle neutral....only throttle start
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 03:29 PM   #3884
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

OK, thanks for the quick reply. It was worth a shot. Maybe it's a possible future firmware upgrade. I suppose if it isn't a popular request, it may not warrant time to be spent on it. I do appreciate all the new features I have now! Inactive alarm, custom voltage level alarm especially helpful for LiPo upgrade to mention a few favorites.

Thanks!
Jasenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 04:29 PM   #3885
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Can anyone explain how the model memory works as it pertains to uploading new firmware? I saw something about the firmware versions
x.x.x and what is effected depending on the version level. So I was wondering if at anytime the models stored in memory will stay in memory when a new firmware version is loaded. I understand going from stock to 0.6.1 would wipe out the models stored in memory. Is there a way to back these up? Are the models in memory not deleted if you go from 0.6.1 to lets say 0.6.2? Does it depend on where the models are saved? i.e. location 0-8 in EEPROM and the rest in FLASH, is the EEPROM overwritten every time you upgrade? Is the FLASH safe from being overwritten when upgrading?

In short is there any mode or procedure to be able to keep the models in memory or a way to back them up and load them after an upgrade?

Thanks for your time.
Jasenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 06:40 PM   #3886
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasenk View Post
Can anyone explain how the model memory works as it pertains to uploading new firmware? I saw something about the firmware versions
x.x.x and what is effected depending on the version level. So I was wondering if at anytime the models stored in memory will stay in memory when a new firmware version is loaded. I understand going from stock to 0.6.1 would wipe out the models stored in memory. Is there a way to back these up? Are the models in memory not deleted if you go from 0.6.1 to lets say 0.6.2? Does it depend on where the models are saved? i.e. location 0-8 in EEPROM and the rest in FLASH, is the EEPROM overwritten every time you upgrade? Is the FLASH safe from being overwritten when upgrading?

In short is there any mode or procedure to be able to keep the models in memory or a way to back them up and load them after an upgrade?

Thanks for your time.

https://github.com/semerad/gt3b/blob...VersionNumbers
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 08:02 PM   #3887
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I think I understand. As long as I am 0.6.x I will not lose my models if I upgrade from 0.6.1 to 0.6.2. IF I go to 0.7.x there's no guarantee at this time.

Is this the correct thinking?

Is EEPROM vs FLASH storage locations no advantage when it comes to version upgrades and whether or not the modules are unaffected.

Thanks again!
Jasenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 11:11 PM   #3888
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Yes, you are correct
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 04:36 PM   #3889
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: yelm
Posts: 2
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

hey everyone new to the Gt3b controllers. I went to do the lipo mod and then i found out thati need to update the firmware because i have the low battery alarm going off because im using a 2s battery. now my question is there someone they can be sent to do the upgrade? thanks
godric78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 04:46 PM   #3890
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: cleveland
Posts: 32
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by godric78 View Post
hey everyone new to the Gt3b controllers. I went to do the lipo mod and then i found out thati need to update the firmware because i have the low battery alarm going off because im using a 2s battery. now my question is there someone they can be sent to do the upgrade? thanks
You can get the parts and hack it yourself at overkillrc dot com.
twb4525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 05:37 PM   #3891
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knox, IN
Posts: 843
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

losikid. Any idea when you are going to get more of the GT3C 4 pin adapters in stock? Can you pm me when they come in?
DrDiff952 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 10:37 AM   #3892
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Turn the mayflower around.. it will never work
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by godric78 View Post
hey everyone new to the Gt3b controllers. I went to do the lipo mod and then i found out thati need to update the firmware because i have the low battery alarm going off because im using a 2s battery. now my question is there someone they can be sent to do the upgrade? thanks
Switch to a 3s Lipo that fits. This has been talked about I belive in this thread on trying to get away using a 2s........

As for sending to get hacked..... I think all should be hacked....... Austin will not do pre owned radios due to issues he has had in the past. I was willing to do them but ended up with issues myself with non working radios, broken radios and radios that needed more mods such as the voltage regulator and bearing mod but people didn.t want to do but then complained about not bing it done later just to sell radio and complain more about it. So I stopped trying to help out. I have a couple here...... My personal radio and couple back ups fully modded, may sell one day but really all the mods are worth doing and really not that hard with basic hobby tools.

Ie: good quality soldering station with small tip and body reamer.
JokersWild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 07:07 PM   #3893
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Hey guys, I posted GT3C's to my site yesterday. They're going fast.

I should have more in about a week.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 12:39 AM   #3894
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Surprise
Posts: 41
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

plugged in my programmer (GT3C) started beeping on kept beeping (low power error). Opened what I thought was right firmware . soon I as ran the program the beeping stopped. Waited till it was all done (verified) and now she is dead to the world. even plugin the programmer back in it does not give it power like it did before. Did I kill her?
Bellerose78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 03:25 AM   #3895
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

What firmware file did you open?
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 11:29 AM   #3896
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Surprise
Posts: 41
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I did not see anything that was close to 6.1 so i did what and thick headed man would do an took a guess. The only thing i saw that was similar to anything i have seen was:
swim.s19.
Bellerose78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 01:09 PM   #3897
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: cleveland
Posts: 32
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

austin, l messed up trying to program my ch3.trim for dig servo. somehow i got the servo working using the 'end point adjuster' screen and the scroll wheel. how can i change it back to ch3 trim button?

it was working on the ch3 trim like i wanted it to, then i changed it somehow. i'm using 0.6.1.

my settings (current):

long press EPA
4 off
d off
p 1 0
p 2na
p 3na
p 4na
b off
8 off

It was working on:
long press REV
3 ch3
3 BNL
3 30v
3 RE0
3 OR0

thanks,
tom
twb4525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 03:59 PM   #3898
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: cleveland
Posts: 32
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Got it. Reset the TX back to default settings. All is good for now...
twb4525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 06:12 PM   #3899
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: EP
Posts: 5
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
For 0.4.0, and 0.3.2

Alright, just wrote this up in a PM...to setup 4ws and winches

ST trim buttons will work 4ws
-the it will give from rear only, even mix, front only...just cycle through the postions with the two buttons, you don't have to hold it)

D/R will work the rear winch
-(switch must be pressed for winch to wind.unwind)

and CH 3 Trim will work the front winch
-(switch must be pressed for winch to wind/unwind)

4WS -Ch1&3-ST Trim Buttons
Front Winch-CH4-CH 3 trim
Rear Winch-CH5-D/R switch

Activate 4WS mix

Long click EPA
4
3
0
NOC
Long enter

Map the 4WS mix to ST trim Buttons

Long Click REV
1
4WS
NOL
100
NOR
NOO
Press and hold enter
back

Map CH 3 Button to turn crab on/off

Long click REV
C
4WS
SWI
NOR
NPV
OFF
Press and hold enter
back

Map CH3 Trim switch to control Channel 4

Long click REV
3
CH4
MOM
Press and hold enter
back

Map D/R switch to control Channel 5

Long click REV
D
CH5
MOM
Press and hold enter
back
hey,

so i tried following this to set up four wheel steer, and i like the St trim to select modes, however i have a GT3C and i don't get the same prompts as mentioned in the original set up.

This is what i get and how i got it to work as described
Activate 4WS mix
Long click EPA--ok
4--ok
3--ok
0--ok
NOC-- Options CR0 or CR1, and it looks like this chooses if the servos oppose or follow each other
Long enter--OK

Map the 4WS mix to ST trim Buttons

Long Click REV--OK
1--ok
4WS--ok
NOL-- BNL
100--ok
NOR-- RE0
NOO-- OR0
back

Map CH 3 Button to turn crab on/off

Long click REV--ok
C--ok
4WS--ok
SWI--MO0
NOR--RE0
NPV--PV0
OFF--ok
back


now i have a question. i have the six channel FS receiver. my front servo on ch. 1, rear servo on ch.3 and want to add a dig servo on ch.4. i my TX or RX dont seem to recognize ch. 1, 2, or 3. how do i get them to be recognized? and How do set up ch.4, the dig, to activate with ch.3 trim button when pushed to the left and only engaged as long as i'm holding the button to the left and disengage when returned to normal?

thanks
Benito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 08:31 PM   #3900
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Surprise
Posts: 41
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Got it had to find and save the file first. Now I think i got it. I seem to have around 60 models now.
Bellerose78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/321742-gt3b-hack-question-answer-thread.html
Posted By For Type Date
RoboSavvy Forum :: View topic - SAM-3 Servo teardown This thread Refback 03-05-2013 01:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com