Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2018, 12:16 PM   #4721
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Bronx
Posts: 8
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
Did you mean the R8B?

Also, are you trying to bind a 8 channel rx to the stock transmitter?
Receiver says R9B. According the the FlySky Compatibility Chart it should work. It says all channels when hacked, I thought maybe with the stock transmitter 1-3 might work. Just wanted to see if receiver worked so I knew if I needed to send it back to shop. I haven't done the hack yet. Waiting on my hack kit to arrive. Here is the link to the compatibility chart.

https://rc.305.cz/storage/FlySky_Tx_...lity_table.pdf


artechroach is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-04-2018, 12:25 PM   #4722
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by artechroach View Post
Receiver says R9B. According the the FlySky Compatibility Chart it should work. It says all channels when hacked, I thought maybe with the stock transmitter 1-3 might work. Just wanted to see if receiver worked so I knew if I needed to send it back to shop. I haven't done the hack yet. Waiting on my hack kit to arrive. Here is the link to the compatibility chart.

https://rc.305.cz/storage/FlySky_Tx_...lity_table.pdf


I haven't heard of the R9B....I usually recommended the R8B. I'm not sure what the difference between the two are, they look the same.

As a side note, I have never tried to bind a 6 or 8ch rx to the stock firmware. I would suspect that it should work but I can't say for sure.

It is odd the table identifies the GT3B with the hacked firmware note but not the GT3C. So maybe the GT3B does something weird? I unfortunately don't have a stock GT3B handy to test.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 12:27 PM   #4723
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Bronx
Posts: 8
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
I haven't heard of the R9B....I usually recommended the R8B. I'm not sure what the difference between the two are, they look the same.

As a side note, I have never tried to bind a 6 or 8ch rx to the stock firmware. I would suspect that it should work but I can't say for sure.

It is odd the table identifies the GT3B with the hacked firmware note but not the GT3C. So maybe the GT3B does something weird? I unfortunately don't have a stock GT3B handy to test.

No worries. I will report back once I have done the hack about whether or not they work. The chart does identify both the b and c with the hacked note though, the C is right below the B
artechroach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 09:40 AM   #4724
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SoWIs
Posts: 618
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I just checked my R9B (updated R8B), ch1/2 work with my unhacked GT3C and hacked GT3B. I can't get ch3 to work, but I don't have time to mess with it nor check 4+. All channels worked with my i6X when tested.

Also Losi look at the table again, I think you are seeing the T2A line below as the GT3C line.
Hydrocarbon92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 10:26 PM   #4725
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Bronx
Posts: 8
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Has anyone had an issue where the ST program would not read the controller? Getting an error message saying that it cannot connect.
artechroach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 06:35 AM   #4726
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 639
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tin Soldier View Post
Recent tried to hack a new GT3b using the hack kit I have always used and I get "Device is protected" I have never seen this before, and it's always worked. Can anyone confirm is these are now somehow being protected from Flysky?
Was this ever resolved? I'd like to buy a new one to hack but I'm worried this might happen.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
honchojoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 10:31 AM   #4727
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: RC Addict Garage
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by honchojoe View Post
Was this ever resolved? I'd like to buy a new one to hack but I'm worried this might happen.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
I was never able to get it to work and never got a solution. I have 2 radios I can not hack sitting here.
Tin Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 11:13 AM   #4728
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Readsboro, VT
Posts: 2,053
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tin Soldier View Post
I was never able to get it to work and never got a solution. I have 2 radios I can not hack sitting here.
I just picked up a GT3C. I sure as hell hope I can hack it or it's useless to me!
Jim85IROC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 11:52 AM   #4729
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: RC Addict Garage
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim85IROC View Post
I just picked up a GT3C. I sure as hell hope I can hack it or it's useless to me!
I've only had a problem with gt3b. I've hacked like 6 gt3c just fine.
Tin Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 08:35 PM   #4730
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 25
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Don't know if this might help

http://translate.googleusercontent.c...Hauh_Ud1rjsgaw

Sent from my LG-H915 using Tapatalk
Twinhamme knock off is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 05:59 AM   #4731
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 639
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tin Soldier View Post
I was never able to get it to work and never got a solution. I have 2 radios I can not hack sitting here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twinhamme knock off View Post
Don't know if this might help

http://translate.googleusercontent.c...Hauh_Ud1rjsgaw

Sent from my LG-H915 using Tapatalk
Please try this and let us know.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
honchojoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 06:10 AM   #4732
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: RC Addict Garage
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by honchojoe View Post
Please try this and let us know.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
I tried that and it did't work for me. I can try it again, but I had no luck last time.
Tin Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 06:11 AM   #4733
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 639
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tin Soldier View Post
I tried that and it did't work for me. I can try it again, but I had no luck last time.
Damn.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
honchojoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 10:04 AM   #4734
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 16
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I had the same issue. The google translated link above did fix it for me, but not right away.

For noobs (as I am) at this ST Link stuff, it's not all that obvious.. On the option byte tab the read protection was already off so at first I concluded that this setting was already ok but it still didn't work. A couple of desperate hours later I finally hit the 'program to current tab' anyways and suddenly the error was gone and I flashed the FW in a couple of seconds. It took me a couple of hours to discover this, so maybe this is your solution as well?

TLDR
Seemingly the actual setting in the tx can be ON, while option byte tab shows OFF. You simply have to program it anyways like the screenshot below shows:

Björn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 10:30 AM   #4735
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

First post from me, hopefully it may help someone.

I just bought a GT3B with the intention of sticking PSX firmware on it, and had read the more recent "Device is protected" posts in this thread during my research.
Figured I would risk buying one despite the reports of the "Device is protected" error ... I needed another transmitter anyway.
Received the transmitter yesterday and today my ST-Link programmer dropped on the mat.

I got everything set up and got the dreaded "Device is protected" message, seemingly no matter what I did.
Started beginning to wonder if the latest STVP software and Win 10 was to blame.

Went over and over through the methods highlighted by Bjorn above and found the same fix on a Youtube comment, "Make sure that the Read Out Protection (ROP) byte is set to off. Open STVP, go to the OPTION BYTE tab, set ROP to off and write out (Ctrl + P). Then, go to the PROGRAM MEMORY tab again and you should be able to write your hex file."

Then I quite by chance discovered that in STVP 3.4.1 Ctrl-P does not seem to function on the 'Option Byte' tab. It only wrote (and updated the ROP) when I hit the Program current tab icon.

So maybe like me some people are happily hitting ctrl-P like the few available fixes indicate, but never think to try clicking the icon/button instead??

Anyway, hopefully this might help someone.

Off to read up all I can on configuring my GT3B now. 4WS is first on the agenda.
GH69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 10:46 AM   #4736
I wanna be Dave
 
CODYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oakridge
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by GH69 View Post
First post from me, hopefully it may help someone.

I just bought a GT3B with the intention of sticking PSX firmware on it, and had read the more recent "Device is protected" posts in this thread during my research.
Figured I would risk buying one despite the reports of the "Device is protected" error ... I needed another transmitter anyway.
Received the transmitter yesterday and today my ST-Link programmer dropped on the mat.

I got everything set up and got the dreaded "Device is protected" message, seemingly no matter what I did.
Started beginning to wonder if the latest STVP software and Win 10 was to blame.

Went over and over through the methods highlighted by Bjorn above and found the same fix on a Youtube comment, "Make sure that the Read Out Protection (ROP) byte is set to off. Open STVP, go to the OPTION BYTE tab, set ROP to off and write out (Ctrl + P). Then, go to the PROGRAM MEMORY tab again and you should be able to write your hex file."

Then I quite by chance discovered that in STVP 3.4.1 Ctrl-P does not seem to function on the 'Option Byte' tab. It only wrote (and updated the ROP) when I hit the Program current tab icon.

So maybe like me some people are happily hitting ctrl-P like the few available fixes indicate, but never think to try clicking the icon/button instead??

Anyway, hopefully this might help someone.

Off to read up all I can on configuring my GT3B now. 4WS is first on the agenda.
Thanks for taking the time to post this info up guys!!! I'm glad to see more and more members taking the time to share important and helpful info like this!!! Great Job .
Ernie
CODYBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 07:47 AM   #4737
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 25
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I also followed the above post for my self last night I just wanted to add that I had to use the 4 pins 5v swim gnd and reset for it to work.

Also if anyone is still able to read and save their original software can you please send me a copy. I wasn't able to save mine as the device was protected.

Thanks

Sent from my LG-H915 using Tapatalk
Twinhamme knock off is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 10:28 AM   #4738
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 617
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
I haven't heard of the R9B....I usually recommended the R8B. I'm not sure what the difference between the two are, they look the same.

As a side note, I have never tried to bind a 6 or 8ch rx to the stock firmware. I would suspect that it should work but I can't say for sure.

It is odd the table identifies the GT3B with the hacked firmware note but not the GT3C. So maybe the GT3B does something weird? I unfortunately don't have a stock GT3B handy to test.
Where did the website go?
DRTMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 12:58 PM   #4739
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: On the road..
Posts: 27
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Is bangood the place to get the hack kits? I'm really thinking about doing this as I consider myself able to solder most things poorly!
hutchinstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 01:02 PM   #4740
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 25
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

It's honestly not that hard all you really need is a 4 pin header because once you program it you forget it there hasn't been a Software update since 2011 I think

Sent from my LG-H915 using Tapatalk
Twinhamme knock off is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/321742-gt3b-hack-question-answer-thread.html
Posted By For Type Date
RoboSavvy Forum :: View topic - SAM-3 Servo teardown This thread Refback 03-05-2013 01:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com