Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2020, 07:32 PM   #4881
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Deep in the Everglades
Posts: 5,415
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Thatís working as intended. Yes it can work with multiple receivers, But it only is a single transmitter.

If I remember, some dual stick are setup for that, on RC tanks and construction equipment . Big $$$$


Hang up and Drive
mikemcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-17-2020, 06:58 AM   #4882
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jefferson City
Posts: 345
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Yes, JoJo513, that, unfortunately, is the nature of the radio. It will bind to multiple receivers, but when switching models it does not kill control of the previous model's receiver. The bind is not a 100% unique handshake between the radio and receiver.

So, unless you actually disconnect the battery or switch the other vehicle off, you will not be able to control the vehicles individually on the fly.
bugman72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 05:32 AM   #4883
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 46
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Iíve been looking at these radios for a 4ws radio and light control. Is there a way to add self centering toggle switch to use for the rear steer switch ?
big specht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 02:57 PM   #4884
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Tryon
Posts: 2
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Is there any way to get expo to work on channel 3 for dual esc?
blackdog360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 10:29 PM   #4885
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Montrose
Posts: 9
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I hacked my GT3C recently and love it with my dual ESC (HH BR Minis) MOA crawler. I also have rear steer. I currently have it setup to run momentary F/R dig off of the DR button and the rear servo off the CH3 button setup as incremental movement (and plugged into Ch3 on the receiver. My rear ESC is plugged into Ch4 on the receiver. I'm trying to do two things unsuccessfully though.

1. Program the C button on the grip to return the rear steer back to center immediately. Edit Just figured this one out, but every time I turn the transmitter on or exit the REV menu the rear wheels shoot all the way left. No big deal because Incan click the C button and return it to center, but that seems odd.

2. Setup the ST buttons to toggle 4WS, crabwalk, and back to front steer. When I try to use the 4WS function it looks like it references CH4, which is my rear ESC, not my rear servo. Do I have to use CH4 on the receiver to use the 4WS function, or can I change that to CH3 somehow?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by charlieboyd65; 05-26-2020 at 10:57 PM.
charlieboyd65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 09:03 PM   #4886
Rock Crawler
 
GTSLOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Fort Knox, Kentucky
Posts: 559
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Does anyone know if it would be possible to reprogram "CH3 TRIM" or "-DR+" to run a vanquish dig? What I'm hoping to accomplish:

Switch center position (servo is all the way forward) normal operation 4WD

Switch forward position (servo is centered) unlocked rear wheels - powered front wheels

Switch rear position (servo is all the way back) locked rear wheels - powered front wheels

My firmware is 061 according to the global menu.


EDIT*

For some reason when cycling through the type of channel I want there is no MP1, MR1, MP2, MR2, etc... What on earth?

Last edited by GTSLOW; 08-22-2020 at 09:09 PM.
GTSLOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 05:54 PM   #4887
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTSLOW View Post
Does anyone know if it would be possible to reprogram "CH3 TRIM" or "-DR+" to run a vanquish dig? What I'm hoping to accomplish:

Switch center position (servo is all the way forward) normal operation 4WD

Switch forward position (servo is centered) unlocked rear wheels - powered front wheels

Switch rear position (servo is all the way back) locked rear wheels - powered front wheels

My firmware is 061 according to the global menu.


EDIT*

For some reason when cycling through the type of channel I want there is no MP1, MR1, MP2, MR2, etc... What on earth?
Yeah, you can use the Multi-Position Functionality.

My memory is abit rusty, but try this

Setup Multi-Position:
Scroll to End Point, press and hold enter
Scroll to P1, press enter
Scroll to desired channel (3 for example), press enter
Scroll To +100, press enter
Scroll to 0, press enter
Scroll to -100, press enter
Scroll to END, press enter
Press back/end afew times

Now assign a switch
Scroll to Reverse, Press and hold enter
Scroll to 3 for Ch.3 Trim, press enter
Scroll to MP1, press enter
Scroll to BRS so it will reset to default if you long press, press enter
Scroll to RE0, press enter (fyi RE1 will reverse the switch)
Scroll to PV0, press enter
Scroll to RO1 so the multi-positions are sent in a loop

Now ch3 trim should control it. It should default to 4WD.

The forward/back clicks of the switch will loop through the 3 postions. If you long press forward or back, it will return to 4WD.

MAKE SURE TO SET YOUR ENDPOINTS TO ZERO before plugging in your dig servo and slowly increment the end point until the dig is fully actuated. Usually there is an audible noise when the servo binds up, back off a couple clicks from the bind point.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 11:27 PM   #4888
Rock Crawler
 
GTSLOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Fort Knox, Kentucky
Posts: 559
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
Yeah, you can use the Multi-Position Functionality.

My memory is abit rusty, but try this

Setup Multi-Position:
Scroll to End Point, press and hold enter
Scroll to P1, press enter
Scroll to desired channel (3 for example), press enter
Scroll To +100, press enter
Scroll to 0, press enter
Scroll to -100, press enter
Scroll to END, press enter
Press back/end afew times

Now assign a switch
Scroll to Reverse, Press and hold enter
Scroll to 3 for Ch.3 Trim, press enter
Scroll to MP1, press enter
Scroll to BRS so it will reset to default if you long press, press enter
Scroll to RE0, press enter (fyi RE1 will reverse the switch)
Scroll to PV0, press enter
Scroll to RO1 so the multi-positions are sent in a loop

Now ch3 trim should control it. It should default to 4WD.

The forward/back clicks of the switch will loop through the 3 postions. If you long press forward or back, it will return to 4WD.

MAKE SURE TO SET YOUR ENDPOINTS TO ZERO before plugging in your dig servo and slowly increment the end point until the dig is fully actuated. Usually there is an audible noise when the servo binds up, back off a couple clicks from the bind point.
THANK YOU!

Follow up question, I recently hacked another GT3C. Upon initial startup I apparently hadn't fully depressed the power button. So the CAL screen popped up and the radio shut off. Is there a way to re-calibrate everything?
GTSLOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 08:32 PM   #4889
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTSLOW View Post
THANK YOU!

Follow up question, I recently hacked another GT3C. Upon initial startup I apparently hadn't fully depressed the power button. So the CAL screen popped up and the radio shut off. Is there a way to re-calibrate everything?
Turn the wheel all the way to the right, then press and hold enter

Code:
Calibrate menu:
===============
- enter it by wheel right-turn and ENTER-long
- 6 menu items starts to blink (+ 2 arrows if CH3 is potentiometer)
- use END or ROTATE to change channels
- there is also channel 3 representing CH3 button (for those who will do
    some 3-position switch/potentiometer modification)
    > There is 1K resistor connected between CH3 button and +5V, so
      simply connecting linear potentiometer instead of CH3 button
      will not work. Usefull results can be done with logarithmic
      potentiometer 10K which has 1K at half of turn. Or eliminate
      internal resistor to +5V, connect potentiometer between +5V
      and GND and potentiometer output instead of CH3 button.
- there is also channal 4 representing battery voltage
- calibrate as usual (for channel 1/2 left+mid+right and ENTER)
    > calibrated value will disappear from menu
    > it is not needed to calibrate all values
- calibrate CH3 potentiometer (if selected at global config)
    > only left + right positions
- calibrate battery (it will not be probably needed to use this)
    > select channel 4
    > press ENTER
    > set your current battery voltage (measure it by voltmeter)
    > press ENTER to save it or END to no-save
- press BACK-long or ENTER-long to end calibrate menu and save values
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2020, 09:03 PM   #4890
Rock Crawler
 
GTSLOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Fort Knox, Kentucky
Posts: 559
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

So I have channel 3 assigned to the "CH3 Trim" switch and it works GREAT for my servo winch. I'm trying to do the same with the -D/R+ switch. I'd like that to be channel 4. However, when I go to the button assignment menu I select "d" which is for the -D/R+ switch and it only gives me these options "CH3, EXB, EXF, EXS, DRB, DRF, DRS, TR2, OFF, MP1, DIG, 4WS, CS3, CS2, SSR, SST, ST3, ST2, ST1". There is no option for any of the other channels. I have set my channels to 6 on the main menu.

**

Edit. So I can't seem to get access to anything beyond channel 3. I've gone to the home menu where it shows F 062, scroll to c, and I've tried setting it to 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 channels and I still can't assign anything beyond channel 3.

Last edited by GTSLOW; 11-06-2020 at 12:43 AM.
GTSLOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2020, 02:52 AM   #4891
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Try on NAME, Enter-long. Here you can change the number of channels for that model
Raulez88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 04:01 PM   #4892
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 241
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Anyone know if RC Addict is still in business? I want to buy his hacked GT3C .. and he shows it on the site .. but you know how it is with business and peoples lives these days with the pandemic, personal issues, etc. He has no email and hasnít responded to my messenger message. Thanks
cloudswimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/321742-gt3b-hack-question-answer-thread.html
Posted By For Type Date
RoboSavvy Forum :: View topic - SAM-3 Servo teardown This thread Refback 03-05-2013 01:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com