Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2011, 08:17 PM   #1
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Post your questions! I enjoy answering them. Any question concerning the gt3b, even if your just curious.


___________


Alright well a genius over on RCTech (psx) developed a new firmware. Now the Flysky GT3B can have 6 channels, 3 pos switches, 4ws mixing, and dual esc mixing. So i developed a kit which will include everything required to install this firmware and any future updates. This kit is can now be ordered here.

I'll be posting up some vids and such hopefully tomorrow of it in action, along with further details how its functionality. As you guys start hacking your GT3B feel free to post up questions if you get stuck.




List of features, updated

i belive this is all the new features the firmware offers in addition to the ones already there.

- ~15 model memory depending how many channels your firmware is
- Sub trims
- More trim value (from 30 to 99)
- copy models
- fixed expo
- Model reset
- Steering speed
- 4WS Mixing
- Dual ESC Mixing
- Dual ESC steering
- Multi Positions Switches (Up to 8 True positions out of a single push button)
- Key Mapping (any key can control any channel in many different ways)
- Calibration Menu
- Key Test Menu
- Backlight on time
- Inactivity Alarm
- Adjustable Low volatge warning
- Adjustable Maximum End Points (Up to 200% i think
- Adjustable dead zone for steering and throttle
- Turn keep beeps on/off
- Adjustable long press delay


The Trim and d/r keys can do this

- nothing, it is possible to assign each button individually as key
- trim of channel 1/2
- dualrate of steering/forward/back
- expo of steering/forward/back
- change channel "n" value in range -100...100
- subtrim of channel "n"
- 4 wheel steering mix -100...100%
- DIG throttle mix -100...100%
- Multi-POsition, switches position up/down
- steering speed turn 1...100%
- steering speed return 1...100%

They Can be setup to act like this

- momentary, hold left/right trim key to get end values,
when nothing pressed, servo is at centre
- no long keys, long press is the same as short press
- autorepeat is on
- long press of one of trim keys will reset to
centre/reset value
- long press of trim key will set to coresponding end value

And they can have an adjustable step rate, oppisite click reset, reversed, etc.

And the Keys (ch 3 button, back button, end button, and the trims if set individually)

- nothing
- switch channel "n" value from one end value to opposite end
value.
- reset value of channel "n" to centre
- switch crab (CRB) no-crab (NOC) for 4 wheel steering
- switch DIG mix between -100 and 100 (more useable when using
return to previous val key setting)
- Multi-POsition, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
- Multi-Position Reset, switches position to first one

Last edited by losikid; 12-08-2011 at 12:10 AM.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-16-2011, 10:43 PM   #3
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

saved

Last edited by losikid; 05-01-2012 at 08:22 PM.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 12:24 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 289
Default

Great now I gotta get one of these radios!... Lolz
NSR_CIVIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 08:26 PM   #5
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

Alright her's some proof it works...excuse my messy work bench

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7dGifwCvtw
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 12:07 AM   #6
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

So i pulled the steering wheel off my gt3b today, and i think i can get some push buttons in there to get the st a th trim buttons more accessible while driving. Which will help if using the 6 ch firmware. So i'm gonna add this to my todo list, hopefully i'll get to it in the next few weeks.

Also this radio is quite heavy compared to speky's and the ones i build. Mostly because there's a glass brick up top that i believe is the back light, and it uses 8 AA's. So i'm gonna look into modding it for Less voltage, or possibly a 1 cell lipo mod with a step up regulator...I'll also look into the backlight on this guy, i may be able to get ditch the glass/led setup and put in a good Electroluminescent backlight.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 02:00 AM   #7
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 423
Default

Good work, I'll be modifying mine on my next paycheck and post some pics. I have one of mine running on a 3S lipo (makes it much lighter). I Haven't pulled the data sheet on the voltage regulator yet which is something I need to do. EL back lighting would be a great for viewing the screen in daylight. I need to get off my lazy ass and start tearing into my spare TX to see what's possible.

Last edited by forbid89; 06-18-2011 at 02:02 AM.
forbid89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:01 AM   #8
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

Ok so the backlight can be replaced with an el. I'm looking into parts for it, i'll probably have some custom cut foam pads and el panels made up once i get this hack kit stocked up good and selling good...as i'll have to buy 100"s of el's and foam pads to be a drop in replacement...with a few solder joints, maybe.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:24 AM   #9
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 289
Default

I see you got the mixing down. You mentioned 3 pos switches. How many can u add and can you show us how & where? I have a scaler that I will need 4 channels for accessories. And I'm thinking this radio will fit the bill.

Posted on a POS smartphone :p
NSR_CIVIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:30 AM   #10
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSR_CIVIC View Post
I see you got the mixing down. You mentioned 3 pos switches. How many can u add and can you show us how & where? I have a scaler that I will need 4 channels for accessories. And I'm thinking this radio will fit the bill.

Posted on a POS smartphone :p
You can map the aux channels to use the 3 position switches already there...ch 3 trim, d/r and the st and th buttons can act as 3 position control.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:32 AM   #11
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

If anyone wants to venture off and try better back lighting on their own, smartieparts.com sells a good el driver, however you'll need to find a el to suit the size of the gt3b
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 12:43 PM   #12
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 289
Default

Are they only momentary? I need something for my shafty dig. It has to stay in pos.

Posted on a POS smartphone :p
NSR_CIVIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 01:02 PM   #13
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSR_CIVIC View Post
Are they only momentary? I need something for my shafty dig. It has to stay in pos.

Posted on a POS smartphone :p
No, it can also be setup like dx3e. So a click will change position. Momentary gives you endpoints when switch/button depressed, when let off it returns to center pos
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 01:48 PM   #14
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 289
Default

I would assume you could piggyback a spdt switch onto the factory momentary like we did on the original dx3 radios?


Posted on a POS smartphone :p
NSR_CIVIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 02:03 PM   #15
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

probably...its also probably possible that you can hook up a spdt center off switch with a few resistors to the ch 3 button and have a 3 position switch that way as well
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 02:17 PM   #16
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sedro Woolley
Posts: 440
Default

what do i have to do to get this radio to safely run off 2s lipos?
CrawlHer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:30 PM   #17
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 289
Default

i know you have posted a list of compatible receivers but i have a hand full of the hobby king 6 ch receivers already they look identical to the 6ch one you linked to but they are the v1 model from hobbyking. will they work too? if so im ordering 2 radios asap!
NSR_CIVIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:35 PM   #18
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSR_CIVIC View Post
i know you have posted a list of compatible receivers but i have a hand full of the hobby king 6 ch receivers already they look identical to the 6ch one you linked to but they are the v1 model from hobbyking. will they work too? if so im ordering 2 radios asap!
has to be v2
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 02:59 AM   #19
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 289
Default

will the 3 ch receivers work with a radio flashed for 6ch?
NSR_CIVIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 11:00 AM   #20
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSR_CIVIC View Post
will the 3 ch receivers work with a radio flashed for 6ch?

I don't see why not, ill try it though tomorrow when I get back home
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/321742-gt3b-hack-question-answer-thread.html
Posted By For Type Date
RoboSavvy Forum :: View topic - SAM-3 Servo teardown This thread Refback 03-05-2013 12:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com