Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Problem with EZRun 5.5T/ESC combo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2011, 08:26 AM   #1

Question Problem with EZRun 5.5T/ESC combo

First off, I've been in the hobby for about 24 years and was really into it until about 2002 when I was racing 19T Touring Car at the local Hobbytown USA when 3300mah NiMh batteries and Trinity Chameleon were the hot thing. I'm not a newb, but I'm a newb when it comes to things like LiPo and brushless.

So, I've been sticking true to my old-school backround until I bought this EZRun set up. I took it out of the box and put it in my TT-01 BMW M3 with stock gearing and after about 2 minutes of run time that Ludicrous Speed, while intriguing, was pointless and uncontrollable.

I removed it from the TT-01 and put it in my Rustler as I thought it might be a better platform for this motor. I put it in the Rustler and it would run OK off the ground, but if you put it on the ground it couldn't pull itself. I checked it over and the next time I turned it on the fan came on but the ESC got hot to the touch within 30 seconds and all it would do is turn the motor at a very low RPM.

I'm guessing the ESC is fried, but I guess what I really want to know is that other than a manufacturing defect what could have caused this? I used to gear my brushed motors for 4 minute heats and things would get hot, but I never once fried an ESC then.
83imp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-07-2011, 05:00 PM   #2
Proverbial threadkiller

Default TMI? Probably.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 83imp View Post
First off, I've been in the hobby for about 24 years and was really into it until about 2002 when I was racing 19T Touring Car at the local Hobbytown USA when 3300mah NiMh batteries and Trinity Chameleon were the hot thing. I'm not a newb, but I'm a newb when it comes to things like LiPo and brushless.