Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: AX10 Glitchy and Runs Out of Steam

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2011, 05:22 AM   #1

Default AX10 Glitchy and Runs Out of Steam

Hey guys,

I'm a newb to the crawling world. I bought an older used AX10 RTC that functioned fine until I changed the stock 55t motor out for an axial 27t. I ended up putting the 27t in my son's ax10 and switched the old 55t back into mine. Now my truck is really touchy going into reverse. This truck has the ESC that forces you to hit reverse twice before it will go backwards. I have to really tweak the throttle trim to get reverse at all. It still glitches from time to time and the run time has been reduced. It is slower and it has lost significant power. Under WOT the motor sounds like the rpms fluctuate a little. After about 15 minutes it can barely pull itself around. Nothing is getting hot to the touch. I bought a new 6 cell 5000mah nimh stick pack because I thought it might be the old 6 cell split saddle packs going bad but that didn't fix. I'm completely stock. Old AX1 transmitter (not the new 2.4g) and stock ESC and RX. What gives? Any ideas? If I were to replace the ESC and RX with upgraded parts, what should I use and will they work with the old transmitter? I would just buy another motor because that's obvioulsy the cheapest thing to replace but I'm not sure that's my problem. Wait!! It just occurred to me that maybe I got the timing wrong on the motor? Could that cause this? How do you set the timing? Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by roadstr6; 11-16-2011 at 05:51 AM.
roadstr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-16-2011, 06:11 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

This may be a stupid suggestion, but are you sure you have the pinion/spur mesh set properly, and the slipper is adjusted?
That may account for your fluctuation in RPM and loss of power when the truck is warmed up...the slipper may be too loose