Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: I need basic info on lipo and brushless terms

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 07:14 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default I need basic info on lipo and brushless terms

I'm new to crawling, but used to do alot of 1/10th scale off-road and oval racing growing up. The problem is, lipo's and brushless motors were not around when I was big into R/C. As such, I just don't know alot of the terms used by vendors and posters here. Can someone point me to a good site that will break down what all of the numbers mean for lipo's and brushless motors?

TIA
Dave
Dave_In_Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-26-2011, 07:51 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Welcome to the crawling side of the hobby. Your on the right website and in the right section. Grab a cup of coffee and check out the "Sticky" threads in the the electronics section. Tons of information, you just have to read it all.
Szczerba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:56 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Hmmmm...not a lot here in the stickies.... http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbi...1-15-11-a.html, and this.... Definitive ESC, MOTOR, and BATTERY threads - RCC's top tech threads!

In general:

LiPO:
mah = pack capacity (just like NiCD/NiMH)
The "S" in a part name = cell count, cells are nominally 3.2 volts (a 2S LiPO is similar to a 5 cell NiCD/NiMH)
The "C" in a part name = "rate the pack can supply power", the higher the better, sorta. It is used in conjunction with mah to determine total power. Small packs (small mah) NEED a high "C", large packs (high mah) can use a smaller "C".

You WILL need a LiPO capable charger, preferred is to get one with a balance plug so you can balance charge your packs. There are a few different balance plug types so be careful shopping.

Brushless: