Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Bringing back dead lipos

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2011, 09:53 AM   #1
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indian Village Pontiac
Posts: 1,910
Default Bringing back dead lipos

How many of you guys have tossed lipos that you left connected too long??

I have discovered a a great way to bring those back and up to a full charge like nothing was wrong.

This only works with lipos that have been discharged too much!

Been running the same lipos for awhile with no issues.

What a savings!!
The Real Dogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-02-2011, 10:10 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Longview
Posts: 122
Default

You just charge it on NiMh for a bit and then it works and brings them back.

I had a Lipo 2,200 3s do nothing and then I put it on NiMh Charge and now Im getting full run times and full charge.
Solitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:14 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mn
Posts: 329
Default

I did the same thing on a 3s 1350mah. Works great stilll
TheREDCAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:18 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: plainfiled
Posts: 7
Default

this is true if your charger wont charge due to voltage being to low on ur lipo .nimh charge will bring it to an acceptable voltage.but it is very dangerous to do this you should have the ability to monitor the voltage rise and shutdown the charger as soon as the pack gets to an acceptible level for lipo charging.I have seen first hand the damage it can cause if left to long on nimh.
ghosty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:29 AM   #5
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Longview
Posts: 122
Default

I charged mine for 15 Min on 1A
Solitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:35 AM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rancho Relaxo. California. USA. Earth.
Posts: 3,285
Default

Same here although on higher amp draw applications the pack never seemed the same. In my scaler it seemed ok though.
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:39 AM   #7
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indian Village Pontiac
Posts: 1,910
Default

Exactly gentlemen,

I use a TP voltage meter with built in balancer on the port while charging using the dean connector. I use the NiMh setting up to 3.3vlts per cell and the first bar on the meter shows.


When I start this process there is not even enough power to light up the volt meter.

Ok good, I wont have to do a write up.

And yes it is dangerous, always charge in lipos sack and dont charge on NiMh for more than 3.3vlt per cell
The Real Dogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com