Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Brxl issues.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 03:05 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Brxl issues.

Alright, I've been running my brxl on a Nimh batt I've had laying around until I could get a hold of some battery connectors (traxxas) for a 2s lipo I ordered.. Anyway, I finally get it all soldered up and when I plugged it in there was a pop and I saw some smoke. My heart dropped. Now when I plug in the lipo, the motor hits full throttle and my string servo is unresponsive. I tried recalibrating the esc to my radio and no dice. Other observations are that the esc does get hot, which may be normal a I'm new to this. Also I've noticed that the lights on the brxl are very dim and when I unplug the receiver they brighten back up.

Scx dingo kit
Brxl torque master
savox sc0254 mg
Axial 27t brushed motor
2s lipo
Roman5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-21-2011, 03:42 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Brxl issues.

Did you solder Traxxas Connectors onto the BRXL ESC? (Have no idea why this would be done. Thats like driving a Ferrari and using Reg 87 gas) Check the solder points and make sure nothing is over hanging or touching. LiPo batteries have a small pop when connected but there should be no smoke. Have you set the ESC for LVC using LiPos now. Check and make sure the LiPo is full charge. My BRXL doesnt even get very warm while Im running it all day, I think you have a wiring issue. If anything just cut off your connectors and re-solder DEANS on there. Good luck
AsILayDying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 12:35 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

the pop and smoke came from the esc? if so its toast, caused by either a faulty unit or from your soldering. is the polarity of the connectors correct so you dont hook + to - ? i would get ahold of holmes about it see what he says
benoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 01:05 PM   #4