RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Electronics (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/)
-   -   how long do brushed motors last? (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/357605-how-long-do-brushed-motors-last.html)

FordFixer 01-03-2012 08:04 PM

how long do brushed motors last?

I'm in process of building my scx10 and im new to scale trucks but not to Rc..i decided to go brushless because its what i have on hand, but im thinking about brushed. how long will a crawler motor last? meaning, how often does the Com get cut or the brushes need to be replaced? do the wear the same as say a 12 turn brushed motor?

Dneff13 01-03-2012 08:12 PM

Re: how long do brushed motors last?

Well my stock scx-10 motor 27t didn't last long but that is because the plastic fan broke, metal in the motor and ruined it.

Replaced it with a traxxas 12t Titan motor and I have been thru 3 of those in short order. So now I have HPI racing 15t.... We will see how long it lasts.

Reflection 01-03-2012 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FordFixer (Post 3484190)
I'm in process of building my scx10 and im new to scale trucks but not to Rc..i decided to go brushless because its what i have on hand, but im thinking about brushed. how long will a crawler motor last? meaning, how often does the Com get cut or the brushes need to be replaced? do the wear the same as say a 12 turn brushed motor?

Allot depends greatly on the quality of the motor, the way you use it and the voltage you run it at.

Most guys run 3 cell lipo's 11.1 volts.

Scale trucks, I'd guess an average weight would be 6-10 pounds. Comp trucks, probably 5-7 pounds average.

A good quality handwound motor will be balanced allot better and the comm will be cut allot truer out of the box, probably allot better brush and spring also. That'll help a motor last and perform allot better.