Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Problem with Tekin RS system in my LCC, will a BEC fix my problem?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 01:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: norman
Posts: 23
Question Problem with Tekin RS system in my LCC, will a BEC fix my problem?

Ok so the quick explanation.

Running a tekin RS esc and tekin 17.5 BL motor on 3s in my LCC. My steering servo is a Hitec 7955tg and my dig servo is a traxxas 2075 (not ideal, but it was laying around).

I'm assuming this is an overload issue because while crawling in normal 4x4 everything works fine, no issues. Once I flip the switch for dig and start driving everything locks up and the truck will not respond to radio inputs unless I pick up the truck and it resets. So the motor, steering servo, and dig servo were all pulling power at the same time which I assume is why the truck locks up because there isn't enough voltage to go around.

So in theory, installing a BEC set to 6v will give the steering servo it's required voltage and therefore free up the internal BEC in the RS to power the dig servo.

Is this right?

thanks guys
rcboy514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-12-2012, 01:42 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default Re: Problem with Tekin RS system in my LCC, will a BEC fix my problem?

Yes, sounds like a RX "brownout".

Depending on where you buy the BEC, you can them to set it to 6vdc in case you don't have the Castle link.

Also make sure your steering EPA's are correctly set, if they are not, you can draw a bunch of amps when you try to overdrive the servo.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:21 PM   #3
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago/Bloomington
Posts: 1,505
Default Re: Problem with Tekin RS system in my LCC, will a BEC fix my problem?

Anytime you use a 3S pack with any Tekin you will need an external BEC. The additional voltage drops the current from the internal BEC.

Get a CC BEC and set it at 6.0 volts and you will be fine. I used a set up almost identical to yours for nearly two years without a glitch.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 05:55 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: norman
Posts: 23
Default Re: Problem with Tekin RS system in my LCC, will a BEC fix my problem?

That's for the help guys!

I've pretty much have everything dialed in, EPA, expo..blah blah

I've been waiting for 2 months now for Holmes to get the castle 10am bec in stock so I can have them program it for me because I don't have a castle link. Any one know where else I can buy one set to 6v already?

Thanks
rcboy514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Problem with Tekin RS system in my LCC, will a BEC fix my problem? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Problem or Radio Problem? Harvo Electronics 8 07-30-2010 06:02 AM
Slipper possible problem/fix lakedan5150 Team Losi Comp Crawler 1 06-12-2009 06:18 PM
Castle BEC with Tekin FXR..problem billysnarf Electronics 8 07-02-2008 11:06 AM
Another Surging Problem... How to Fix? BagoXCAlum General Crawlers 4 11-13-2005 08:37 AM
one fix creates one new problem jakhammer Tamiya TLT Crawlers 24 06-01-2005 01:24 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com