Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Holms Motor Hookup...???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2012, 03:17 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Holms Motor Hookup...???

I just got a Holmes 2012 (Team) 16t motor today I am new to this and have never installed a motor before. I am also going to be changing my spur gear and pinion gear along with a few other mods. Since it appears to be a rather involved process of disassembly to do either on this Axial Wraith I have not taken my rig apart yet, so I can do it all at once. I did not want to lose or misplace any parts or forget how something went together.

I also found out today that the Holmes BR-XL's are finally back in stock so I just ordered one of those as well, and will now wait until I get it to do the entire install. But I thought it might be a good time to ask a few questions and hopefully get some expert advise.

The stock 20t motor appears to have the two wires soldered to tabs then with bullet connectors on the other end which hook up to the wires coming from the stock ESC. There are no wires attached to this motor, and I assume there will be wires but no connectors on the BR-XL.

Questions: Do I just solder wires to the two tabs on the HH motor (pictured) or should I use spade connectors?
And is there any reason that I could or should not use Deans connectors to hook up to the BR-XL, as I will be using a Deans on the battery wires?
Attached Images

Last edited by Land Crab; 02-23-2012 at 03:21 PM.
Land Crab is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-23-2012, 03:23 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Holms Motor Hookup...???

you could wait till u have the brxl and solder its motor wires to the motor tabs, or solder wires onto the motor and put your connector of choice on them so you can remove the motor without taking everything out. on my motors usually put 3.5mm gold bullets on all mine so they are easily removed.