Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Radio Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 07:44 PM   #1

Default Radio Advice

Hi All,

I am new to crawling and have previously done off road racing.
In the past I have used a Ko Propo EX5-UR and I have to say i love it and wished I never sold it, but extra receivers though being nice and small are expensive at $80 a pop. Then I had an EX10 Helios with a spectrum module, and I don't know if it was because the spectrum module sticks out at the back but I never got on with it, and all the receivers seem massive, so I am currently trying to a sell.

I have also used the losi spectrum that comes with their XXXSCT RTR which just felt flimsy and cheap, I have also currently got the Axial radio that comes with the TR Honcho, which I used for the first time crawling at the weekend, to me it feels too light and the trigger seems to have no resistance, being heavy handed I went from still to full power every time I tried to go slow over the rocks (I understand some of this will be practise).

So I am really looking for some advice on what sort of radio is best for crawling (if there is a best) but mainly what sort of radio is good for a newbie that is heavy handed and used to racing.

I will want something that has extra receivers available (at a reasonable price) but I do not want to spend more than $300 on the radio and receiver to start with.

Hope that all makes sense, and thanks to anyone that takes time to read my ramblings and big thanks to anyone that might have experience in this and helps by departing there wisdom.

Cheers
DinPerth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-02-2012, 07:52 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Radio Advice

1-I'm a Futaba fan, thus I say 3PM-x or 4PL. The "number" is how many channels. Both have multi-model memories if you have multiple rigs.