Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Improving crawlibility of a Tekin Pro4 and a MM Pro.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2012, 09:46 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default Improving crawlibility of a Tekin Pro4 and a MM Pro.

I purchased a Tekin Pro4 3300KV and an MM Pro for my Wraith under the impression that it was the best compromise of low speed control, raw torque, and top speed. Gobs of torque, check. Adequate top speed, check. Crawlibility, uh, not exactly. Running 12/54 gearing with underdrive gears front and rear and mainly 2s power, with the occasional 3s when I feel like breaking stuff. I'm prepared to try 11/54 next.

I have the motor timing set to 10 degrees on the ESC, and mechanically stock on the motor. I have the start control set to soft, and I made the throttle curve exponential hoping to have a smooth startup. This is my first time programming an ESC for brushless use. I know, from my BRXL, what to do to make a brushed motor creep, but am kinda clueless as to all the new adjustments that can be made with a brushless motor. I believe I'm using castlelink version 1.32.

It is very difficult to make the thing crawl. It seems that I can hold the throttle barely open and the motor will slowly gain speed until I let completely off. Sometimes it will encounter an obstacle while crawling and just stall out, and then leap forward. All while I'm holding the throttle steady. Makes it very difficult to finesse through rock piles.

There is good throttle control while moving at a decent clip, but very little at low speeds. What kind of motor or ESC adjustments are people making with this combo to gain better low speed control? I searched, but my computer skills suck, just like my ESC programming skills, so thanks for any advice.
meatmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-07-2012, 09:50 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Improving crawlibility of a Tekin Pro4 and a MM Pro.