Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Tekin fxr cut wire

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2012, 07:55 PM   #1

Default Tekin fxr cut wire

Ok, so im very new to this, and just started pickin up RC about a year ago. Please excuse the amature talk when it comes to this Thread, and im hoping this is the correct spot that I should put this-

I have a Axial SXC10 kit, I put in a tekin FXR and a hand wound 35t motor, with a CC external BEC. After about 1 month of open trails, I decided to put all my electronics (ESC, BEC, and receiver) in a water proof box, even tho I already have them plasti dipped, just for added protection. The box is black, just happened to be the only color I could find that fit perfectly. From what ive read it is very hard to get the Tekin FXR over heated, but I still decided to put air holes in the top just for air flow. My plan was to just take a dremel and just put 2 or 3 1/2 inch holes in the top. Since the box is black, and could not see into it, I was hoping/praying I wouldnt hit any of the wires with the dremel tip... I was wrong, I just KNICKED the white wire leading from the ESC to the receiver. It is a braided cable so I was hoping there was enough of the wire left to hold current enough for it. I seperated it away from the rest of the wires and turned on the ESC. Everything was working fine, (all the lights on the ESC were working with full throttle and full reverse) but within about 15 seconds the ESC started getting very hot. I turned it off and now am looking for help. My main question is - Is the only solution cutting all 3 wires and soldering on a new end that goes into the receiver box, (another option just cutting that part out, but still soldering them back together). Any help or advice is majorly appreciated, and any criticism I will take for this stupid mistake on my behalf.