Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Futabe 3PL question

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2012, 12:46 PM   #1
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville SC
Posts: 60
Exclamation Futabe 3PL question

I am fiixing to add a servo winch to my scx10, and will have to upgrade to 3 channels. My question is:

With the 3PL radio, can all three channels be operated at the same time? If I am using the winch, will I be able to have stereing AND throttle control?

If not, what other radios can be used this way? I do live on a budget...
summervillecrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-31-2012, 03:46 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buffalo area
Posts: 400
Default Re: Futabe 3PL question

Yeah, they all work at the same time, but can't do what you need to do.
(if I am not mistaken, please forgive me if I am wrong, but I do have one)

The third channel is mixed for 4WS or a brake (rev. linkage) on gas cars.
You can't use it as a 2/3 position switch to run a winch. (fwd/ntrl/rev)

It's what should be called a 2+1 channel radio. (3rd ch pre-prog mixed)

All that said, talk to Heyok (sp?) he might have an answer,
and I think he has a fairly priced kit to work off of a two position switch, but I'm not sure the 3PL can be used like that anyway?
(again, sorry if wrong, but I run mine on a 4WS clod, and dont see a way)

Nothing in the instructions shows me that I can use the "third" (2+1)
channel as a switch, but if there is a way, I sure would like to learn it!!!


OH, edited to say...

Look into the RC4WD XR3 and XR4 ch radios. About a $100 (XR4) and the receivers are only $30 each.

I have had one (XR4) for two years now, and have about 8 rigs running off of it with ZERO issues.
It's not a bad radio for the price, but you dont get EPA on channel 3-4.

If you want that adjustment potential for a dig or multi-speed tranny, they have off-board/in-line control
kits for that too....

Last edited by cogfounder; 07-31-2012 at 03:53 PM.
cogfounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Futabe 3PL question - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 3pl receiver question CRAWLERJOE Electronics 2 07-27-2012 09:51 AM
3PL question jcsaxial Electronics 0 05-01-2012 02:02 PM
Futuba 3PL question, help if you can. OntarioCrawler Electronics 2 12-12-2011 08:44 PM
Futaba 3PL question low82 Electronics 3 10-31-2010 03:06 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com