RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Electronics (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/)
-   -   Mamba Max 1 Cell question (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/399075-mamba-max-1-cell-question.html)

Nutternugz 08-22-2012 02:16 PM

Mamba Max 1 Cell question

Hello all,

I have a question, I have a Mamba Max 1 Cell ESC and was crawling on Sunday and all of a sudden I had no throttle, ESC as far as the lights are concerned shows it's arming but no beeps or throttle. Motor is a cheap Traxxas Titan 21 turn, the no arming beeps are what is concerning me. Any advice?

Charlie-III 08-22-2012 02:18 PM

Re: Mamba Max 1 Cell question

First guess is the brush arms are toast in the motor. Since you need the connection through both brushes to the arm to:
1-Make the motor turn
2-Make the "chimes"

I think the motor is toast.

Try disconnecting 1 ESC to motor lead, then connect a known good battery to the motor directly, I think you will find the motor is still dead.8)

Nutternugz 08-22-2012 02:20 PM

OK, didn't think the motor would effect the chiming on the ESC, I have a old motor that I will throw in tonight and see if that was the issue. I have ran maybe 10 packs through that Titan, damn those motors suck...

ecoli 08-22-2012 02:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nutternugz (Post 3881743)
OK, didn't think the motor would effect the chiming on the ESC, I have a old motor that I will throw in tonight and see if that was the issue. I have ran maybe 10 packs through that Titan, damn those motors suck...

The chimes don't come through the esc, they come through the motor can.

Those motors are notorious for burning out after a few packs. 10 packs is pretty good for a cheap, non-rebuildable motor.

AreCee 08-22-2012 02:52 PM

I see in your sig that you have a Losi NC or CC, both will eat up the Titan motor in a hurry.