Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Sensored Brushless advise

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 12:58 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default Sensored Brushless advise

I am new to the sensored brushless world, so I actually need some advice from you folks.

I am looking at this maybe:

HobbyWing JS5 Sensored Brushless RC Car Combo w/ Justock 45A ESC + XERUN-17.5T 1900kv Sensored Motor for 1/10 & 1/12 RC Buggy/Truck Competition (ROAR Approved)

Want to use some thing to haul a little poo, but crawl nicely in my Willys build. Thinking of going with a 2 speed RC4WD trans in it, so I think I could crawl ok, then haul the mail.

I hear 17.5 is the sweet spot.

Originally, I was going to go with a mamba max pro, and a 17.5, but I am open to one of these budget combos as long as they have what I need.

Anyone know what motors will work with castles "boost" mode? I hear Tekins done like em.

Advise is appreciated.
Chris_The_Battery_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-21-2012, 01:14 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Wouldn't be a good choice for a couple reasons, although it may or may not affect your setup/wants. First is that the drag break maxes out at 30% or so depending on programming box. Second, those motors are really meant for lighter 2wd's. Really meant as a go fast option, but could be made to work with respect to gearing.

Had a couple nokak 17.5's that enjoyed the mmp. Tekin is a better choice imo. A decent cheap-ish 4pole option that's often compared to the tekin pro4 would be the tenshock sc411, but could possibly have too much of a footprint in the engine compartment of a willys. Of course the top dog right now is the pro4
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:06 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Sensored Brushless advise