Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Lets talk servos and servo power

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2006, 11:50 PM   #1
MWRCA'er
 
Mnster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Machesney Park IL
Posts: 3,992
Default Lets talk servos and servo power

Ok, what is out there? In order for me to buy a servo it has to meet a few strict requirements.
  1. High torque (111oz or higher)
  2. Full metal gears (Hitec and other brands put one plastic gear in the box, it sometimes strips that sucks.)
  3. Horns no servos savers (They have no place on my crawlers I want to turn not load up a spring.)
  4. Replacement parts (gear sets and spares are nice on those far from home runs as long as they don't out weigh the cost of a new servo.)
  5. Long lasting (I'm flat out tired of buying servos every month I need servos that last)
  6. Run time (I don't want a servo sucking down all of my battery juice)
  7. Standard size (enough said)
  8. Price (under $100 I'm not made of money)
Stuff I have been using

8 GWS SO6 at $18 each The cheap price and solid unbreakable gear train is a major plus. However, the case and torque is just not up to super class crawling duty and cracks. Also the centering device goes out after a while leaving the servo hunting.

2 Skylon Cen servos $32, seemed good at first, good torque, cheap price, very strong case. After a while one of them lost all of its power and it was weak. I chipped off some of the gear teeth in the other servo i had.

Hitec digital 5545MG or something like that, Free I won it in a giveaway. Longest lasting servo thus far. However, it is currently has issues going full strokes. It just kind of pulses when it turns. I like it though, the torque output is good (165oz) it could always use more. But, I'm guessing with a wheel adaptor change I bet it would be about right. Anyone know how to send in a hitec servo for repair?

I'm looking for a solid servo that can steer my Clod stick crawler around. With this latest comp craze here in the midwest crappy servos just don't cut it. I'm currently running 40 series Moabs with the Thundertech adaptors. However, I plan to go to Thundertech CVD's and Rcguy adaptors sometime later on. I'm using the super rooster to power the setup. Really just looking for the last servo I will ever have to buy.




A few other questions about servo power.

How long do your reciever packs last on a full charge? How many main packs do you run though before you change your RX pack? Do you gain noticeable runtime for the main pack?

Would I see any real power gain if I decided to tap 5 of the cells from the 6cell stick pack used for main power? Verses if I used the Super rooster to power the servos.
Mnster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-15-2006, 08:08 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave
 
FrankyRizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vegas
Posts: 7,175
Default

I run Hitec 5645's on my NN now and I ran them also on my stick chassis. I have never had a problem with them.
FrankyRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 09:08 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Henderson/Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 5,032
Default

i can attest to that i ran his NN clod around on sunday and never had a problem with them... ill be putting them on my clod when i get one.
dieselfuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 09:43 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave
 
cartronicshn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HONDURAS...ROCK HEAVEN
Posts: 4,967
Default

^^i'll take your word for it, i had bought the 645, and didn't quite cut it so i'am getting a couple for one of my clods
cartronicshn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 12:45 PM   #5
MWRCA'er
 
Mnster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Machesney Park IL
Posts: 3,992
Default

Thats what I think I'll do then. Pick up another hitec 5645 to match the front. Since I will have all the warrenty info from that new servo I can send back my old hitec 5645 in for repair.
Mnster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 01:08 PM   #6
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 218
Default

I'm a huge fan of Airtronics servos and I run the 94359's. For your price range, go with the 94358. It's essentially the same servo as the 359, but has a plastic first gear (and no heatsink like the 359). You can always replace the plastic gear with a metal one as they have a kit for it.

The 358/359 have more torque (200 oz) and are much faster (.10 sec) than the hitecs mentioned..though more expensive, it's worth it IMO. You can grab the 358 for $99 at Tower, perhaps cheaper elsewhere.
wyattburp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 07:26 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redmond Oregon (High Desert)
Posts: 31
Default

Servo Torque Chart
Bad_Habit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 06:15 AM   #8
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 8,004
Default

The 5-cell tap isn't the best idea, as I've found out the hard way. It introduces a potential voltage that wants to fulfill itself by shorting out across your ESC's receiver leads. You'll probably be okay as long as you only run 6 cells, but any more than that and you're gonna smoke something. Do the receiver pack or run off the BEC.
microgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 06:42 AM   #9
Moderator Rule Breaker
 
eric113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 5,969
Default

I found this on servocity.com thought it might or might not be helpful, Which this be a good way to figure what servo's would be good for your truck.

Torque - This is the maximum power the servo can produce. It is normally rated in inch-ounces. This means that the servo can move this set amount with a 1 arm attached to the output shaft or spline. Example: A servo with a torque rating of 130 in.-oz. can move that amount with a 1 inch arm or slightly over 8 lbs. To convert in-oz. to pounds of force, divide this rating by 16. Example: 130/16=8.125 which is in pounds.
eric113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 03:52 PM   #10
Powered by Awesome
 
TwistedXT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Parker, Colorado
Posts: 3,621
Default

um... was just at Hitec RCD's website and didnt see a 5545mg? can you check which one you are running?
TwistedXT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 04:21 PM   #11
TEAM MODERATOR
 
Reflection's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 10,853
Default

Airtronics 94359Z,the best servo I've ever run. Against my 1/4 scales,333 oz. digi's.....I'll take these anyday. Heres where I bought mine....Crispy Critters Hobby Shop
Reflection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 01:31 PM   #12
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 2,028
Default

Ben you can also do a clamp style servo mount like I did on my clod. No more broken ears.
Cole82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 01:37 PM   #13
I'm a stupid C U N T!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In the Garage!
Posts: 4,307
Default

my personal favorite servo of all time JR's 9000t 330oz tourqe .15sec metal gear of course and not but a few bucks more than a digital hitec or aitronics http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...dID=JRPSZ9000T
slobin3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 02:37 PM   #14
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 2,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slobin3d
my personal favorite servo of all time JR's 9000t 330oz tourqe .15sec metal gear of course and not but a few bucks more than a digital hitec or aitronics http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...dID=JRPSZ9000T
I'll second this. This is the one I was telling you about but didn't remember the #
Cole82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 02:54 PM   #15
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
 
dezfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Happiness is a warm AK.
Posts: 12,194
Default

I've had extremely good luck w the Tower Pro MG 955's off the bay. Under $20.00 a piece, 200 oz's of torque, and so far the only loss has been a broken ear on one of my Supers.
dezfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 03:15 PM   #16
I wanna be Dave
 
cartronicshn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HONDURAS...ROCK HEAVEN
Posts: 4,967
Default

dez how about a link? i looked and only found the micro ones , i will agree i have one on my NN for the rear steer and one 645mg on the front and the difference is unbeliavable much more steering power from the tower pro.
cartronicshn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 03:36 PM   #17
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
 
dezfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Happiness is a warm AK.
Posts: 12,194
Default

Here is one for $4.99 and it ends in 5 hours!

http://cgi.ebay.com/MG995-Metal-Gear...QQcmdZViewItem
dezfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 03:39 PM   #18
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: One Legend.
Posts: 2,134
Default

I too have had good luck with the ones Dez listed.
The specs also said they could handle 7 volts...
I have run a BEC tap straight off a 6 cell pack to power them and not had a flame out yet.
Unholy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 02:38 AM   #19
MWRCA'er
 
Mnster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Machesney Park IL
Posts: 3,992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedXT
um... was just at Hitec RCD's website and didnt see a 5545mg? can you check which one you are running?

Actually its a 5645mg

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole82
Ben you can also do a clamp style servo mount like I did on my clod. No more broken ears.
Internal case breakage the gears pivots get all wollerd out or the output to the case cracks.


I also have to add that Futaba 3305 servos suck. I picked up two thinking that name brand servos are good. They glitch like mad they flutter under high torque. Every once in a while they freak out and do there own thing till they find center again. Worst of all the servo lead was all of 8". I had to buy extensions just to put them in.

I just can't get myself to blow $125 on a servo just yet that "might" hold up better then what I have been using. I'll just have to raid the for sale sections of racer sites till I find what I need I guess.

Towerpro's look to have that same crappy case as the GWS servos that I had, not going down that road again. I've heard mixed reviews, just look in the Towerpro thread.

Last edited by Mnster; 09-04-2006 at 02:53 AM.
Mnster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 07:37 AM   #20
I wanna be Dave
 
FrankyRizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vegas
Posts: 7,175
Default

I have used the 3305 for years in many rigs and never had a problem. IMO it is a really great servo.
FrankyRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com