Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Gearing!!!! HELP!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 02:19 PM   #1

Exclamation Gearing!!!! HELP!

Just bought a new 35t crawler motor from RC4WD. Its there new BOOST motor and not going to lie it runs pretty good. My only qustion was I noticed the motor got pretty warm for just testing it out inside my house before heading out. AM I running the right gearing? I have a 20t pinion and the stock plastic spur gear. Or is it just normal for motors to get hot? This is my first crawler so I am new to crawling.
OGMUDBONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-07-2012, 03:04 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: Gearing!!!! HELP!

What crawler do you have? 2S, 3S,nimh batt? what size tires? do have wieght in the tires? Any binding in the drive train? I use 18 pinion and 91 spur with 1.9 ttc claws with 3S and 2oz in each front tire does your moter have adj. timing? I use 0 deg. in all my crawler moters
TrickyRicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:12 PM   #3
RCC Addict

Hot means geared high, drop pinion teeth. Try a 14 or so.
indiana mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:52 PM   #4

Im running a 2s lipo with 1.9 proline tires and homemade wheel weights but they arent anything too heavy that it should cause the motor to overwork itself. No binding on the tranny or driveshafts or gears Tricky Ricky. I dont know much about timing and have never played with the motor or any of that stuff. RC4WD said it should be set from the factory I guess since its made to plug and play. Thanks Indiana mudcat. Ill try a 14 pinion gear and see how that goes. Will that give me more torque???
Old 11-07-2012, 09:55 PM   #5

The truck is an axial SCX10 BTW sorry leaving that out.
Old 11-07-2012, 09:57 PM   #6
I wanna be Dave