Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: RCMC Lansu 3 channel 2.4 radio problem

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2012, 08:24 PM   #1
sgl
Rock Stacker

Default RCMC Lansu 3 channel 2.4 radio problem

Hello, I have the Redcat Sumo 1/24th about 12 months old, with the 3 channel Lansu 2.4 radio, using the PCB Rx/ESC integrated unit. I am having a problem with severe steering jitters. Initially it was right hand turning now it is both and all on 4ws. Problem persists with new batteries in Tx and fully charged Rx batteries. I was wondering how to trouble shoot the problem aside from replacing with new units? As the rx is solid state there are no contacts to clean. Is there potentially anything in the Tx that needs to be cleaned?
Thank You
I imagine it's obvious I am new to this and appreciate the help.

Redcat Sumo Crawler,
stock with Lipos

Losi MRC Pro.
Brushless, Lipos, Flysky GT3b
Stock configuration
Just finnished
sgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-16-2012, 10:04 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: RCMC Lansu 3 channel 2.4 radio problem

Hi,

stock it comes with battery holders for 4 cells, aka 4.8V.
While it does accept 2s LiPo as power source (the motor driver stage is an AF4953 which has a GateSource Voltage of 25V max), the voltage for the Rx itself is run through a B772 with fixed resistors. I guess that means the Rx voltage is higher with a 2s than with 4 NiMh cells (you might want to measure the voltage on the servo outpus with both configurations).
Here is what I did (after the B772 blew up),
soldered in a standard 5V regulator after the switch. Still the servo would jitter and i assumed they can't cope with 5V, so I switched the servo to a standard micro type. Everything works fine ever since.
You can also find this on the 4x4 scaler forum under Micro Trux,

cheers

braq
braq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:30 AM   #3
sgl
Rock Stacker