Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: 27T/35T/45T/55T motors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 02:48 PM   #1
I joined the Band!

Default 27T/35T/45T/55T motors

Ok so since im new to this.. i will eventually learn and most likely only by buying all of them...

but when you fine tune after getting a motor... you will only get so much..

so example... when i had a 27t axial motor ($9) i could move my stock ax10 with non weighted stock 2.2's just fine.. had some speed too.. could spin em easily...

then i got panther plowboy tires on jconcepts weighted wheels... and wow.. i lost all movement...
searching high and low people say 35T gives good wheel speed and crawling...
so i went 55T and decided if that is just really too slow I could gear up...

so i went with the 55T, 15T pinion and 87T spur... to a 20T pinion..
motor did not get warm to the touch.. but didnt gain much at all.. and on crawling i think it did worse.... couldnt crawl as good...

so couldnt you do simply just gear up or down with a high turn motor?

so looking at the gear chart...i can see there is not much difference in turns to keep the same gear ratio.... with that...

can you compare turns in motors kind of the same way? i know there are so many variables.... but someone with knowledge could they?

im wondering if i should go with a 45T motor or 35T motor? I want to be geared down for crawling.. but wouldnt mind some speed...

2 speed trans and keep the 55t?

i am all over the place with that bu that just shows you im lost...

mind you the 55t on 3s is slow but can be doable...

since i do want to make a crawler eventually.. i will still need more motors so maybe buy all of them and figure that out?????
RootBreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-21-2012, 03:08 PM   #2
MODERATOR™

Default Re: 27T/35T/45T/55T motors

You're definitely all over the place there.