Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Futaba 4PL, HH BRXL, and my wiring mess...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 07:17 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Futaba 4PL, HH BRXL, and my wiring mess...

Okay, so this is my first time building a kit or any RC. Im at the point of wiring electronics in my build and I just want to be sure I have everything where it should be since there seems to be 89 different wiring diagrams on how to do the same thing.

Since I am using the Castle BEC to power the servo I have removed the red wire from the BRXL's wiring going to the receiver as I read you are supposed to do. Does it matter which way the remaining two wires plug into the receiver? There is no direction the BRXL will plug into the 4PL, it will go either way. Brown on one side, orange on the other? Same for the servo yellow wire, should it be on a certain terminal of the 3 in the slot? Left side, right side?

Am I fine to power the receiver off the battery with the Futaba supplied switch as I have in the diagram below? Is it bad to power it directly off the battery as I have it? Too much voltage? I looked at another wiring diagram and it didn't show anything going to the "BAT" terminal on the receiver, so I tried to power it up and obviously it wouldn't power due to no battery connection - I'll throw that diagram in the trash.

I have the Axial light bar and 5-string LED kit. I was going to use the power coming off the BEC to power the lights but its so dim, a kitchen match would be brighter. I unplugged my front lights from the Axial light controller and plugged the light bar into it and it was bright as it should be. Should I pick up another Axial light controller? Even direct power off the 3S LiPo was extremely dim.