Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Motor Break in Procedure & Reasons Why

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2005, 11:26 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Motor Break in Procedure & Reasons Why

Well I'm just a Noob when it comes to the land of RC vehicles and I never hear of this before until SR5Dave mentioned it in another post.

So why do you break a motor in?

Are you causing any harm if you didn't?

What methods are used to break a motor in?

This was SR5Dave said in another post. Ref: http://www.rccrawler.com/posts5293-0.html
If the motor arcs in synch with the radio glitches, I'd suggest breaking the motor in on less voltage. (Do the underwater on 7.2V trick).....
Breaking in the motor: Pull your motors out, plug them into a 7.2V pack, and run it underwater until it stops spewing out crud (no more than 1-2 minutes I'd imagine). And no, water won't hurt a thing (I can't remember how many volts until things arc under water, but its like 25+) So RC motors are fine underwater What this does is it lets the brushes on the motor get ground down so they make full contact to the comm (thing brushes ride on).......Its the crud in water that screws things up! Water itself is fine.
4RnrRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-2005, 11:31 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Motor Break in Procedure & Reasons Why

Oh this is the only reference I found for motor break in here on RCCrawler.com.....

http://www.rccrawler.com/postlite4333-motor.html+break
Old 01-05-2005, 11:31 AM   #3
Ace
Rock Crawler

The idea is to set the brush (wear the contact in with the commutator) with less current so when ya run it normally the current has more surface area to transfer the power to the comm.

Personally, if I had a nice motor to race with I might break it in but with nice soft silver brushes.

For a lathe motor, I really wouldn't bother cause they don't draw many amps anyway.