Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: How do I run LED's from a 9volt battery

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 10:18 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default How do I run LED's from a 9volt battery

Hey there
generally im new to installing LED's. I want to install a light kit and run it off a 9 volt battery, can anyone post a link or perhaps explain how i would do this. The light kit i ordered is this one....1set G T Power 12 LED RC Car Flashing Light System | eBay

Also how would I go about running off AA as an option?
milestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-07-2013, 04:13 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: How do I run LED's from a 9volt battery

The set you ordered won't run off of 9v (specs show 4.8-6v). Looks like you just plug it into your receiver for power.
road_rascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:54 AM   #3
RCC Addict

If for some reason you don't want to or can't power if from your receiver, you could use a receiver pack.
Big Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:27 AM   #4
RCC Addict

Other Options:

1) 4 AA alkaline cells in series. Radio shack sells a battery holder that would work. RadioShack Enclosed 4 AA Battery Holder : Battery Holders | RadioShack.com

2) You could a add a BEC programmed for 6V if you can't power it off the receiver.
k7zpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:44 PM   #5
RCC Addict

wire up the LED's with the proper resistors, get a 9v plug from radio shack, solder + to+ and - to - on the 9v plug and then just hook up the 9v batt.

check the back of the LED package & make sure they are the right voltage and your good to go. I have used up to 10 LED's with this set up but prefer running it thru the RX.
these used to be run by a 9v batt.

Last edited by crawlhog; 01-07-2013 at 03:07 PM.
crawlhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 04:12 PM   #6
I wanna be Dave