Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: few questions on Lipo ratings

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 12:55 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default few questions on Lipo ratings

I'm still learning about all this. Please bear with me. First lipos I got were sky and gen ace. Seemed pretty good and pretty cheap. I bought an Emaxx that came with lipos too.. 2 smc and 2 thunder power.. The to sky and thunder power have the same ratings. I had the day off so i was messing around a bit. all four batteries are very close to new. The sky lipos did okay. I have used them before. The thunder power batteries. Just touch the throttle the truck flipped onto its top.. There seems to be a good difference in power. Thunder power batteries cost a good bit more. I sure would say it's worth it though.

So that's little background. What I'm wondering is how do you know the ratings are accurate on the battery you're buying?? make sense? thanks again
m1009cucv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-19-2013, 01:27 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: few questions on Lipo ratings

Same ratings....what ratings??

From your description, sounds like the "C rating" is different.

On small packs (lower mah) the "C rating" makes a difference.

On larger packs "C rating" is not as much of an issue.

Punch is a combination of "C" & mah. When mah goes low, the "C" MUST go high.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 01:49 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

^^+1^^ I would think the flipping batteries have a higher C rating than the others which give you a bigger burst rate or off the line power vs a smaller C rating
Phins Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:58 PM   #4
Proverbial threadkiller

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1009cucv View Post
What I'm wondering is how do you know the ratings are accurate on the battery you're buying??