Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: making a Traxxas 550 Titan into a crawler motor

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 12:52 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default making a Traxxas 550 Titan into a crawler motor

I started building some motors and ran out of magnet wire... While waiting on more to arrive I decided to post up a build thread and let it marinate to see if anyone with some real knowledge had any tips. I have some small experience re-winding Xmod motors and after 2 or 3 versions I got a winner that was super fast, used very little battery, and stayed nice and cool.

So I have 2 Traxxas 21T 550 Titan motors... Big motor, big armature, big magnets, big winds. This motor produces a good amount of power, speed, heat, and eats batteries quickly. I decided to experiment and see if I could make a 550 crawler motor stronger than the typical 540's That I could run with my crawler ESC's and get decent run times.

First to open the "sealed" can I ground off the folded tabs that hold it closed.

Here's the brushes.(motors have only ran once LOL)