Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: signs of a bad pack?? or just a bad motor.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2013, 03:00 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default signs of a bad pack?? or just a bad motor.

I have a big Zippy 3s 5000Mah hard pack that I have been using for maybe 10 months, not sure of how many cycles it has but It couldn't be much more then 10.

I think I have a bad brushless motor, but I want to rule out the battery.

the symptoms I was seeing were similar to a low pack: cogging, motor won't start, will move if pushed and so on. but the monitor showed 3.7 and my alarm is set to 3.2.

I know that AGM (absorbed glass mat) batteries will show full voltage at rest with a dead cell, but if you load them they will fail. But I think a lipo will show a failed cell not matter what. I do have about 4 hours of runtime on this charge, which I was impressed with, I had never run it that long continuously and had no idea how far it would go.

outcry brushless ESC and a speed passion crawler master L motor.....I really think the motor is the issue here.....
Docwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-15-2013, 03:13 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: signs of a bad pack?? or just a bad motor.

try a different battery, then you'll know for sure.
crawlhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 04:00 PM   #3
Suck it up!

Charge the battery and try again.
Duuuuuuuude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 04:32 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

A lipo will show a higher voltage at rest than it will when a load is applied. All batteries do. In my race RC, I see voltage drop from 8.4v to 7.9v at the first pull of the throttle (under load) then it bounces right back up again.

In any case, 4 hours is loads of runtime, even for a 5000mah battery. Charge it!
monkeyracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:45 PM   #5
RCC Addict

Will do, thanks guys.