Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Axial AX-3 Throttle Dual Rate Switch possibility

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2013, 03:09 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Axial AX-3 Throttle Dual Rate Switch possibility

Hi all. I have an idea for adding a throttle trim to the Axial AX-3 transmitter.

First thing first, lemme get a few things out of the way . . .

Yes, I am a low-post newb.
Yes, I spent about 2 hours searching on this and found nothing, yet.
Yes, I have seen this done before, but not in THIS transmitter.
Yes, I have some experience with electronics, though granted, not enough to be sure my idea will work the way I think it will..
Yes, doing any of this WILL void your warranty.
NO! I will NOT be held accountable if someone should try this and it fries something, through their fault or mine.. this is an IDEA and as such, YOU choose whether to continue or not, not me . . .

Ok, that being said, here is my idea.

The Axial AX-3 transmitter, which comes in the Honcho RTR set, and most likely the others as well, has a dual-rate adjustment for the steering, but it does not have any D/R or limiter for the throttle, other than that offered by changing settings in the receiver.

LosiKid posted this thread with lots of nicely-taken photos of the transmitter, both inside, and out.

The pot for the throttle is connected via 3 wires from the pot to the main board. This can be seen in LosiKid's thread, in the third post, in the third and fourth images.

My idea is to cut the center wire, that's the brown one in LosiKid's images, and add a resistor. Basically what this will do is change the signal sent to the main board from the pot, letting the main board sense that the trigger has not moved as far, mechanically, as it has. This should let you have the full range of the mechanical trigger, but not as much range in the electronic signal... This should give you lower speeds and better control.